TAKEOUT CHICKEN in Postcards 4

  • Oct. 10, 2017, 5:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public


One of the fake cannons on the Surprise.

We were both tired after our day of socialization Saturday.

We did have tickets to the new “Victoria and Abdul” matinee on Sunday, so I packed half a sandwich, and off we went. It’s visually stunning. It hits you powerfully with its authentic scenery and costuming. The colors are marvelous. The acting is touching. But once is enough.

Again I dozed at the computer when we got home. Just think how much better I would have felt if I had gone to bed. Silly me. Coffee is not the solution.

I have to confess that something has gone wrong with the me that once loved to cook. My cooking hatred seems to have grown to a truly idiotic level. Perhaps I am just being reactive to the new dietary restrictions. Combining three restrictive diets has brought me to a halt. I’m putting together a shopping list this morning that hopefully will please all those restrictions yet fill my stomach with some sense of joy.

Perhaps a takeout chicken? LOL
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: The usual Monday work chaos acerbated by a doctor’s appointment at 10ish for his knee. Meeting.

  • Herself: Pool, writing, shopping for groceries, hunting up day of the dead fabrics, reading, cooking, reading, and TV

  • Reading: Skimmed on 70’s Stevenson that read really dated, reading another now that’s totally captivating.

  • Captain Poolie: In and out of a car, and walked to and from her front door by herself.

  • Gratitude’s: That right now life is being kind.


GypsyWynd October 10, 2017

As much as my mom and I love to cook, we also fall into that hating to cook rut, especially when we get bored cooking the same old things. Restrictive diets are a challenge.

woman in the moon October 10, 2017

What are your diets like? I have my own (no soda/no sugar/no wheat) that I like and that works for me to a degree when I can do it. I do it for quite a while and then I get bad and soda, sugar, wheat all sneak back in. I do not have an answer. I can't even seek it lovingly.

MageB woman in the moon ⋅ October 10, 2017

I have IBS, I have some horrible allergies, and my blood sugar has a tendency to get very high.

Hillbilly Princess October 10, 2017

gattaca October 10, 2017

I like to cook but I'm usually in a 'simple-is-better' mindset.
However, many weekdays I'm too tired so I make cold-cuts and cheese with a salad maybe. How lazy is that?

MageB gattaca ⋅ October 10, 2017

I so approve.

NorthernSeeker October 10, 2017

I'm up and down with cooking. Right now I'm dealing with turkey leftovers so my enthusiasm isn't that high.

Deleted user October 10, 2017

I am going to see " Victoria and Abdul" by myself Wednesday. First time ever I have gone to a movie alone but I want to see it and that is the last day it's here.
Cooking has become joyless for me for quite some time but Frank really looks forward tocoming home to a meal after work. We are discussing doing major cooking together on Sunday evenings; enough for most of the week and then freezing dinners . I think it's a great idea. I despise trying to figure out what to have on every single day :-(

MageB Deleted user ⋅ October 11, 2017

I picked a cookbook, sat down and made up a menu, and it all looks pretty good so far.

Deleted user MageB ⋅ October 11, 2017

Good for you !

Eriu October 11, 2017

I want to see that movie! Well, I'll get out and about soon!

Deleted user October 11, 2017

My poor cooking is one of the reasons I think I ended up anemic. :-(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.