Moetoberfest 2017 in Adventures in paradise

  • Oct. 9, 2017, 12:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I went to Moetoberfest (My friend Moe’s annual birthday celebration) last night. It was held at ‘The Barvarian’ and the starting time was at 7:30pm. Cue 7:10pm rolling around and me thinking I’d just walk down and make it on time when I decided to double-check the venue, and sure enough, I was wrong. It was at CHERMSIDE and not the city one. So cue me going, “Oh fuck!” and rushing for my phone to order an Uber, as that was the only way I was now going to make it on time.

And I did. Phew. The driver was a guy with a thick accent that I couldn’t pick, but he was very friendly and drove a big 4-wheel drive, so there was plenty of room in the vehicle. I wore my colourful shirt and some basic shorts, as it was a typical warm QLD evening. I brought my jacket with just in case, but it really wasn’t needed.

Got to Chermside and saw Sheldon, Steve, Luke and Rhys all waiting outside, so I gave them all a hug and waited with them. The host was running late but rocked up about 15 minutes later. We were spread across two tables and Luke recommended that I order the pork knuckle over the pork belly. The waitress came over and told us that they were unfortunately all out of pork belly, so that worked out well.
We had to go to the bar on the other side of the restaurant (which was quite a walk given the size of the place) to order our meals/drinks. So I ordered the full-sized pork knuckle, a side of sweet potato chips (I tried to get the roast potatoes but the guy serving me couldn’t mind them on the register - ergh, fine, I’ll have the chips) and I ordered a cocktail.

We had buzzers but they went pretty much as soon as we were back at the table. Mine buzzed last but I’ve still never seen a place that had the food cooked so quickly. It’s almost as if they had it ready and microwaved it, it was that fast! But, it was still tasty.
Man, mine took some getting through. I was pretty hungry and I managed to get it all down but holy, I felt like I was going to explode afterward haha.

I was seated next to Luke and across from Sheldon, so they were my main conversation for the night. The music in the venue was a bit too loud to make out hearing many other people, unless only one person at the table was talking. It was good to see Sheldon again. It’s very hard to catch up with him anywhere these days, and I think it’d been at least a year and a half since I last saw him. We have a little bit of history, in that I liked him for a while and he didn’t like me back (I found out from Moe that he didn’t think I was confident enough) but we’ve hooked up a couple of times over the years, never fucked though. He’s still a very attractive guy and of course I like hanging out with him, but he always has an excuse or a venue is too far from his place on the southside etc, so I think a lot of us just don’t bother anymore. To be honest, I was surprised he’d even come to Moe’s birthday, as Chermside is out of the way for him (in reality it’s prob like a half-hour drive).
So Sheldon was telling me that he’s started dating a 19yo and things were going well but now Sheldon feels like that he’s the only one making any effort to organise dates etc and it’s getting exhausting. Fair enough. Then he was telling me how he’s gone on a few other dates, and all but this 19yo have bailed on him, as in, not turned up to the date.
It blew my mind to hear that, given how attractive I’ve always found Sheldon. I started to lose interest in him though because of how negative he always was about everything, and that just makes me feel numb when people can’t see the positive in anything. I mean, I get we all have down-days, but his negative views were just too much, and I’m kind of glad he wasn’t interested in me back when I was. But, he’s hot, and it draws me in. Dammit. And I think he knows it. Even though he wasn’t interested, he made the first move on me many years ago by kissing me in my lounge-room and I still remember how fast my heart was beating.
But I had absolutely no issues with him using me for a bit of fun. I still wouldn’t, tbh.

When he told me about the guys bailing on him, I reached across the table and punched his shoulder and said, “But you’re so cute!”
Ergh, that cocktail must’ve hit me harder than I thought it did. Luke and Rhys must’ve thought that was so lame haha.

Most of the boys had to leave early-ish as they are all Monday-workers (haha, suckers!) but I stayed on a bit longer until the venue closed. It was a little bit awkward when the people I knew left, as we were now all combined on the one table and I only knew Moe and his boyfriend Ben, wheras these guys all had a stronger bond and worked together (from what I could figure out from the conversation). I needed to use the bathroom and I grabbed another drink on my way back to try and get some liquid courage so that I wouldn’t feel like such a black sheep in this group of mostly strangers.
Luckily, the two girls seated across from us boys were freaking hilarious. They appeared to be best friends from a long way back, both very attractive, a little bit ditzy, party girls, one black, one white, done up to the nines - hair, makeup, dress, shoes, the works. And when they started talking about their friendship and their sex lives, it was just great. I really loosened up through laughter, and Moe is very witty with his comebacks and pop-fiction.
The white girl was complaining that her boyfriend was “SO boring in the bedroom” and she’d suggest ‘Do you want to play a game?’ and we were all cracking up at the ‘Saw’ reference. And her boyfriend never wanted to. Like fuck, if I were straight and had a girlfriend that hot, why the hell wouldn’t you?
I don’t understand straight people. lol.
Then she was talking about a situation she had when she and her friend were younger where she ‘finally fucked this guy’ she’d been wanting to for ages, and she couldn’t go back home for whatever reason, so she went over to her friend’s house (the black girl at the table) and tapped on her window and her friend was in such a bad mood at having been woken up that she threw a pillow at her and made her sleep on the floor next to her bed and she could hear her shivering and she asked for a blanket and the black girl told her to ‘bugger off’.
I hadn’t heard a funnier story in ages. Everyone was cracking up laughing. Who knew you girls were so crazy and MEAN to your friends, huh? :P She’d just had her dream-root and was then made to shiver away on a supposed best-friend’s bedroom floor LOL.
Oh boy.

Moe liked my present, moreso the ‘Check Meowt’ cat-mirror, surprisingly. That was the cheaper gift.

Anyway, I’m home. I was so damn tired after having worked and then dinner so I’d been up since 6am at least. I was very glad to get home. Unfortunately I’ve woken up with the hangover from hell, and all I had was that one cocktail and one mixer a while later, and that’s with that huge-ass dinner a scoffed down.

Man getting old sucks! Tell me there’s something to look forward to, other than my superannuation payout and death lol.


Swanny October 09, 2017

How do you have a hangover from 2 drinks? hahahaha Hope you feel better soon :)

KissOfLife! Swanny ⋅ October 09, 2017

Cos I'm hopeless LOL.
Thanks :)

kmh. October 10, 2017

Sounds like fun :)
Bummer that 2 drinks knocked you around so much!

~Octopussy~ November 12, 2017

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.