SCRAP QUILTS in Postcards 4

  • Oct. 5, 2017, 12:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I recently joined a Facebook group for scrap quilters. I certainly am a scrap quilter as most of every quilt I do is made from bits and pieces. All their work inspires me. Their enthusiasms amaze me. The colors are great too.

It took me forever to make this blue quilt. I stalled and put off doing anything for months. Then I would stall again. Most of the fabrics came from leftover AIDS Quilt fabrics after we closed the Chapter here. Many are Richard Morris designs. Marvelous stuff. The back came from the store. Someone made this with lots of love and then donated it to us at the Discovery shop. I bought it and brought it home. I know the colors are dull in comparison to the front. Then again, I do go overboard with color every time.

The name of this quilt is “The Last Quilt.”

As you know, it isn’t.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: Paid off the bank card today. Now only one remains. Work, Poolie visit, Gaming.

  • Herself: Stayed out of the water as one of the burns on my hand looks awful. Look where you gesture is my new byword. Need to cut out the dark purple for the front of the Crow Quilt. I’ve been procrastinating as usual. Visit. Book. TV. Bed.

  • Captain Poolie: Perky. Again had cheerful visitors when we stopped by. A delightful cousin and Pam…whose dog got very ill in the night.

  • Reading: ”Gerald and Elizabeth” by D.E. Stevenson. Stilted.

  • Gratitude’s: That I have G to help when my computer is unhappy.


Deleted user October 05, 2017

It's lovely ...

Zipster October 05, 2017

I beg to differ; I think the "back" side is meant to be a compliment to the "front" side and it does indeed complement it. We all need a respite from the bright glory now and again. Both sides are beautiful, no matter how long it took.

Narrator October 05, 2017

I love both sides! (And color.) Morris designs are beautiful - I have one print that I hesitate to attempt anything with, as I don't want to screw it up!

NorthernSeeker October 05, 2017

The back of a quilt has to be another quilt? Let's just say I'm glad this doesn't apply to paintings! The only quilts I ever saw were scrap quilts. Mom once made one with lots of pieces of orange parachute cloth and it was stuffed with used nylons (washed of course) that had runs in them. Reuse and recycle. It was a very warm quilt and it wanted to slide off the bed with all the slippery material.

MageB NorthernSeeker ⋅ October 06, 2017

No, usually I use solid pieces of color on the back of a quilt. This just happened to come into the shop and I used it. :) I'm very lazy.

Hillbilly Princess October 06, 2017

beautiful

Eriu October 06, 2017

Beautiful! one has to appreciate not only the beauty in it but all the workmanship that brought that beauty to life.

gattaca October 07, 2017

Those are beautiful!

MageB gattaca ⋅ October 08, 2017

Thank you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.