Camping ideas in Stuff

  • Oct. 5, 2017, 6:41 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Is anyone reserecting their Open Diary? I know it’ll be a subscription-only service, so I’d be limited to reading those people who are also paying for the service. I also don’t trust the DiaryMaster after the way he just let things go all those years ago, and now I feel like he’s run out of cash so is bringing the site back. It’s interesting that all of our old diaries are apparently still there though. Hmmm. I do miss OD, but I’m skepital that the same thing will happen down the track. Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me.
I’ll probably stick to here me thinks.

I’ve been looking into camping places and man, I can’t believe how regulated it seems to have become. I suppose I did grow up on a 2500 acre farm, so it was easy to just take the quad down to the creek and set up pretty much anywhere. So cue my surprise when I see I have to PAY for an allocated site and share the immediate area with other campers. Umm, that’s not really my idea of camping. I want to be isolated in the middle of nowhere,with my book and the sound of the birds! Can’t I just do that? I suppose everywhere is private property these days and I’ll just have to admit defeat that camping isn’t what it was when I was a kid 😒
Having said that, I have been reading a few blogs and there does seem to be some great camping areas around. Some have toilet facilities, others don’t, some powered, some not. I’d prefer somewhere non-powered but would also prefer not to have to shit in a bucket, you know?
I wish I had some more SEQ readers who could give me some ideas.
I’m absolutely flabbergasted at the prices some people want for glamping! One place wants $1300 a night. Why the fuck would someone not choose a penthouse over glamping when they wanna rip you off that much?
I guess glamping is still relatively new. The cheapest one I saw in my area was still $350 a night. Could be a cute date-idea I suppose.

I got another email. The rest of my stuff is arriving tomorrow apparently. Probably whilst I’ll be at work. At least I have the main stuff.


Asenath Waite October 05, 2017

I googled "Can you camp for free on public land", and got this: https://gearjunkie.com/camp-free-public-land-dispersed-camping . So it's still hypothetically possible. It just requires more research time, and work.

Crystal Apple October 05, 2017

I don't trust Bruce. Who knows what he's done with our diaries after all these years! :-o

KissOfLife! Crystal Apple ⋅ October 06, 2017

Yeah I have a major distrust in him also. Sad really.

anyahs October 05, 2017

Saw you on the front page - I am from the US so I can't offer you any free/cheap camping ideas for where you are, but we can definitely relate here too! There are a decent amount of state parks and whatnot that do allow camping at a pretty cheap rate, but then you are dealing with other people instead of getting that privacy. My boyfriend and I have created a backpacking campsite on public property that there aren't any actual trails to get to so that way we can camp privately there, and also just recently created a campsite for our Popup Camper on his cousin's property so we have privacy with that too. Solitude when camping is the best part! It definitely sucks when things get over-crowded or over-pricey. Hope you can find a good solution soon!

Wranglingal October 05, 2017

Good Luck in finding a great place for your time of camping. Sounds so exciting.
I was a member of OD and I do NOT think I am going to go back. I am happy here but I hope I do not loose my great friends here on PB!
Take Care

Fawkes Gal October 05, 2017

I cannot wrap my brain around growing up on a 2500 acre farm. We grew up on 1/4 of an acre and I thought our yard was HUGE when I was a kid. laughs

KissOfLife! Fawkes Gal ⋅ October 06, 2017

Haha that's Australia for you. We've got a lot of space! I hear that some of the cattle stations out in the desert areas are over 100,000 acres lol.

~Octopussy~ October 05, 2017

I have no idea what "glamping" is...

I'm not heading back to OD. He put the nail in that coffin ages ago and I thinks it's despicable the way it's being brought back.

KissOfLife! ~Octopussy~ ⋅ October 06, 2017

Glamping is 'glamorous camping' so you get like a hut with a roof, comfy bed, luxury sheets etc, food, bathrooms, the works, it's just in a camping setting usually with a panoramic view.

Yeah I feel the same.

whowhatwhere October 05, 2017

I paid for a lifetime membership way back in the day so I think,from what I have read anyway, that I will still have it.
I'm with you though, I don't trust Bruce at all.

There's free camping in the middle of nowhere all over the place here. Do you have public lands there? Or national/state parks?

Complicated Disaster October 05, 2017

There is absolutely NO CHANCE of me going back to OD even though I'm a lifetime member!

Swanny October 05, 2017

Not sure how I feel about my past old diary just popping up again after all this time. OD feels like a lifetime ago.

Deleted user October 05, 2017

Really OD coming back? Ah the nostalgia !!

KissOfLife! Deleted user ⋅ October 06, 2017

IKR! https://www.opendiary.com/faq/

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.