Beginnings in Public

  • Feb. 1, 2014, 11:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The wait goes on. I check in pretty often, and it's still there. But like a deathwatch on a dying patient, we're all just waiting for the flatline.

I'm absolutely grateful for this lifeboat that I believe will be built up to a new home. I'm thrilled that quite a few old friends have migrated over. But I kept people on my bookmarks that hadn't been around in years. I wonder what will happen when some of them inevitably try to come back and they don't find anything? I wish there was a way to leave like a beacon for those lost souls to find their way here, or there, or wherever their friends ended up.

I'm also glad that this didn't happen before things like FB connected so many of us in other ways. Losing those connections forever would've devastated me.

And yet, I feel like this "brush with death" has revitalized a lot of us to remember all the wonderful things that being part of a writing community gave us. We've been given a chance to shape a new community. Gosh I hope we manage to bring mostly the good stuff from OD and leave the bad stuff behind.


Jane Says February 01, 2014

Oh, me too. I love that I've been refreshing Prosebox all day waiting for people to update so I can see what's new in their lives! It's been a long time that I've been this excited. OD just got to be too cumbersome and over time I gave up. Now I feel really motivated to write and NOTE and that is just crazy.

I also hope the drama-whores stay away for a while. I get so sick of that crap.

Beret February 01, 2014

I wonder that same thing, i.e., about those who rarely checked in any longer.

Pintador February 01, 2014

You're right; this "brush with death" has definitely revitalized the OD community and will only serve to jumpstart this one. It's like the old adage about how you don't know what you've got til it's gone. Many were taking OD for granted, not updating or even reading much...until it became apparent that it wouldn't be around much longer.

Linda February 01, 2014

I'm very grateful for Prosebox. B

Timmy™ February 01, 2014

Aye, got a bunch of people on the book of faces as it is.

JamieMomma February 01, 2014

I check in a lot too :( There are a few people who haven't been around for years too that I really wish I could find

Mommy to 3 February 01, 2014

So thankful to have this place for everyone to reconvene. And so far, it's inspiring me to be more in touch with everyone knowing we almost didn't get the chance to. Had that site up and disappeared one day without warning, I would have been hard pressed to remember everyone I had bookmarked.

RoseS February 02, 2014

I had to take a screenshot of my friends page, because so many have not written in so long and i wanted to remember. And then there are the ones who died. sigh. I go back there to delete my diary every day, and so far every day someone else has left me a note... which makes me smile because i went six months with nothing! maybe today will be the day.

Estrella February 02, 2014

I wonder as well about those who are getting left behind. I keeping checking in; sometimes I wonder if he'll ever pull the plug. I'm ready to move on and glad to have a place to do it.

deliciae February 03, 2014

the demise of OD is timed well for me; i'm due to start writing again so why not now? me and nine million other diarists, i guess. xo

Overachiever deliciae ⋅ February 04, 2014

Heh, yeah. He couldn't have done it when I didn't need to write....

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.