CLEANING UP AFTER A SLOB in Postcards 4

  • Sept. 24, 2017, 11:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I confess, I’m the slob.

I get started on a project and my neatness factor falls off the chart. Worst of all, it isn’t just in the work area. I feel no guilt about unwashed dishes, un-hung-up clothes, and messy floors either. Look at that floor…where did those books come from? Why is my purse and hat on the ironing board? I’m using that ironing board.

I’ve finished the center portion of the Crow quilt, and slowly I go through the house cleaning up after myself. I might do it faster if I weren’t quite so embarrassed by it all. There’s fabric bits everywhere. Magazines waiting to be read. Ditto newsletters…they slip and slide so easily. Cough drop wrappers look like snow near the trash can.

Worst of all are the books. Have I read them? Why are they not shelved? They live seven deep here next to my computer. There’s piles waiting next to my side of the bed and next to my chair. I suppose I have to do something about them. Did I tell you that the bed got made this morning. Perhaps it’s a sign of mental reconstruction….the slob is retreating.

Just for a moment. Next I go out to Rosies Quilt shop to look for a dark, dark purple fabric.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: He wants to feed his birds after some computer time. Shower later.

  • Herself: I want to check on that quilt center before anything else. I want it long and narrow not big and unwieldy as it is now.

  • Reading: Ruth Reichl.

  • Captain Poolie: Much better yesterday. More brain seeding this coming week.

  • Gratitude’s: That we can take her a root beer float every day.


Last updated September 24, 2017


Zipster September 24, 2017

You are not a slob you are a creative. A professor once told me that the creative's process is making order out of chaos. A recent study shows that part of the mess fuels your creativity. So celebrate it. Can't wait to see your crow quilt.

Deleted user September 24, 2017

I have the same issues; and more with pets... but minus cough drop wrappers. I get absolutely frustrated with cleaning bathrooms every day and laundry . Dishes... and putting away dishes. I think I do not like routines :-)

Deleted user September 24, 2017

Good wishes for Poolie this week!

NorthernSeeker September 24, 2017

Things fall apart whenever I'm on a painting binge. That is the way of the world.

Eriu September 25, 2017

I have cats. I put things away; they climb where they're not supposed to be and knock them down. They shred books if I don't find them first. I put things to rights only to find a mess as if I'd never touched it when I come back.

aunty EM September 25, 2017

That "live-in" look.

Hillbilly Princess September 26, 2017

Im the slob here

MageB Hillbilly Princess ⋅ September 26, 2017

Hugs.

woman in the moon September 24, 2021

Your rooms are always so beautiful.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.