Chilling out.... in In the Kingdom of Suzu

  • Sept. 22, 2017, 11:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

In chincoteague with the princesses and Jeff. For the past several years, we would go to the OBX for a week but this year it did not work out this way. Doing a long weekend on chincoteague. Arrived mid afternoon, got settled, walked to a couple of shops, needed to get bug spray and just walking PrincessL was getting bit! There is so much to do, can’t decide. Definitely beach and want to rent bikes and then either kayaking or taking a boat trip to see the wild ponies. Right now, everyone is sacked out but I was having trouble falling asleep so am sitting out on the balcony sipping a glass of wine and eating peanut butter filled pretzels. This is nice.


Anaiss September 22, 2017

Sounds so wonderful (except for the bites)!

QueenSuzu Anaiss ⋅ September 22, 2017

Yeah, not good about the bites, but I am sitting outside now, it is after 11 and no bites for me! (I think drinking the wine chased them away😝😝)

Deleted user September 22, 2017

Sipping wine and eating peanut butter filled pretzels does sound very nice. Are you in the tropics? I've never heard of chincoteague.

QueenSuzu Deleted user ⋅ September 22, 2017

Not in the tropics. Chincoteague is a barrier island in Virginia along with assateague, another barrier island which is part of Maryland and Virginia (I think). They are home to wild ponies and even year they do a pony swim (don't know all the details, would have to google it). There is also a book about a horse from there, "Misty of chincoteague" I think it is called altho I never read it. It is about 4.5 hours from our house as opposed to the outer banks of North Carolina a/k/a OBX or "the banks" I am just glad we were still able to take the girls on vacation albeit a mini one. My impression of chincoteague and assateague are that they are more laid back than OBX, more camping type people as opposed to yuppies and millenials that you see in OBX and no huge homes either.

QueenSuzu Deleted user ⋅ September 22, 2017

Just googled assateague and it is in Maryland state and there are no accommodations on it. You can access it from chincoteague which is in Virginia.

Deleted user QueenSuzu ⋅ September 23, 2017

Just viewed photos of all three, Chincoteague, Assateague, and the Outer Banks. Are wild ponies at all locations or just Chincoteague and Assateague? Would be fun to go there some day. There's so many places I would like to go. I'm so happy I was able to go to Hawaii! I don't have a desire to go back though. I would rather see places I've never seen before. Enjoy your time away in beautiful surroundings! Have fun!

QueenSuzu Deleted user ⋅ September 24, 2017

Yes, the wild ponies can be found in all three places.

ConnieK September 22, 2017

How are the girls doing?

QueenSuzu ConnieK ⋅ September 22, 2017

They seem to be doing well. They are home schooling and everything is peachy-keen at their dad's. Time will tell tho, he is still fighting my daughter, he did not contact me for details on the trip and when I got the girls, his wife brought them and just about drove off without acknowledging me but then wanted to know something about the island.

Deleted user September 23, 2017

I have read that book. It used to be one of my favorites when I was a kid !

Wranglingal September 23, 2017

Sounds very relaxing and Peanut butter pretzels sounds so GOOD! I need to go shopping for some now! lol. Have a great weekend!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.