Binge in Food Angst

  • Sept. 22, 2017, 5:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I binged yesterday. After a successful weight loss of 53 lbs, about 2 weeks ago I tried to introduce more normal eating into my life. I still log all my information into my fitness app every day, but I was allowing the occasional treat and had increased to 1400-1500 calories per day. I was doing well, still eating healthy 99% of the time and feeling good. Yesterday something happened and I ate all day long. Some regular food, some junk food. I culminated it with 5 popsicles last night and felt slightly nauseated. I went to bed and couldn’t sleep. I was awake until 5 am, even after an ambien. Things are going on and I had a high anxiety level. Some small things that I just find stressful because I’m weird, but some real life stress. Even so, I am back to my routine today. Regular logging on the app. Now, I am going to eat healthy all day and remember how this all went haywire yesterday and try to avoid that level again with other coping mechanisms. I am 63 years old. I thought I had this beat, but it seems it will be there forever. Still, eating “clean” feels so much better and that keeps me at it…I know this…I can fix this. The issues in my head…another matter entirely, lol.


Anaiss September 22, 2017

I'm 65 and I know I will never have it beat. All we can do is just get up and get back in the right direction. Yesterday's done and no longer exists!

mcbee Anaiss ⋅ September 26, 2017

Absolutely, it never ends...but it can get easier and more of a routine. Thanks.

noko September 22, 2017

I found maintaining my weight loss to be more difficult than taking the weight of in the first place. That said there are so many factors involved in eating healthy and regulating one's emotional life that a slip up is to be expected and forgiven. It sounds like you have a plan and feel good about getting back to it and I think that matters a whole lot more than a binge day. :)

mcbee noko ⋅ September 26, 2017

Yes, it's a whole new thought process.

mcbee noko ⋅ September 26, 2017

Yes, it's a whole new thought process.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.