At least I'm bringing pizza in Well now

  • Sept. 20, 2017, 11:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Okay, Nathe and I haven’t really been talking for a few months now,
which has been a bit of an emotional vacation,
but, since I was never really mad at him about his last bizarre blow-up,
I made the first move last week.
I invited him to a movie.

It didn’t really work out.
We couldn’t find anything that he was interested in.
His last email reply was something along the lines of “Well, if you really want to see a movie, I guess I wouldn’t mind going see..”
whatever, I don’t even remember which film it was.

Meh.
He has a way of doing that.
He turns simple things like going to the movies into something he’s doing as a favour to me.

I replied something along the lines of, “Since you seem rather tepid about seeing a movie,
why don’t we just wait until something comes along that you want to see.”
Which works for me.
Really, I just didn’t want to feel like I was begging him to go to the movies with me.
I made the gesture - He made it difficult - I decided could do without an annoying reconciliation at this time.

So things sat until he emailed me a feeler about the new Queen Victoria pic that’s coming out soon.
Was I interested in going with him when it hits town?
Why yes, I emailed back,
yes, I would be interested.

Okay. He’s stopped making it hard to make up.
We can go to the movies, absolutely not talk about politics,
and that’s fine.

And all would be well,
well, except for one thing.
There’s a television event coming up on Sunday
and I don’t get regular tv.

Hmmm, who do I know will definitely be watching the show I want to watch
on the huge television in our father’s house?
Why, my socially maladroit older brother, that’s who.

Awkward this though.
How does one maneuver an invitation that the offerer has no idea he should offer?

Hence my just sent email.
Considering himself quite clever, my brother responds well to attempts at cleverness.
My writing attempting such gives him something to later pick apart for me
and feel superior.

And so I wrote -

Oh, Brother Mine -
There is history being made this coming Sunday.
Yes, a new Trek franchise is being launched
and you, yes you,
are going to want to be there at its inception.
Don’t tell me you don’t.
I simply will not believe it.

Since such historic moments are meant to be experienced,
and then picked apart,
ruthlessly dissected,
eviscerated if you will
(and we both know you will),
and also knowing, as both we do,
that it’s no fun to rip a show apart on your own,
you will need a viewing companion for this lofty endeavor.

So…

Yes, yes.
If you insist.
You can find out when the new Star Trek series is coming on this Sunday
and upon what channel (that I most obviously do not get)
so that you can then invite me over to watch it with you.
I shall most graciously accept your invitation to watch the new trekness with you.
Perhaps I shall even bring a pizza or two for the three of us to dine upon.
One always hopes that the Pater will indulge in social engagements,
in this case at least dinner,
and perhaps he might even enjoy the viewing of the trekulocity with us.

What fun I say.
What an utterly engaging enterprise.
Oh wait, that’s another series altogether.

Please reply at your earliest convenience to extend this invitation
which I have so graciously inspired you to extend.

Much love,
your sometime seemingly extra-terrestrial sister.

Now he can feel like he’s doing me a favour.


Last updated September 21, 2017


Serin September 24, 2017

Don't want to alarm you but they're proposing that after the premiere it's all going to their private channel.

Cobalt Serin ⋅ September 25, 2017

I believe you're right. So, I checked it out.
Their "all access" channel is $5.99 a month after a 7 day free trial.
So the first two episodes, posted the premiere night, are free,
then it's basically $1.50 an episode until the end of the first season.
Then they figure you'll have gotten yourself hooked on something else on the channel and forget to drop the subscription.
I've been a Trek follower since the first series.
Yeah, I'm thinking about it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.