Burnout Central (Not Literally) with Lightbulbs in Everyday Ramblings

  • Sept. 18, 2017, 9:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is the planting across the street at the Under Armor building. When they did the original landscaping they put in about 4 dogwood trees, white dogwoods. They didn’t do the greatest job in placing the watering system and over the last few months one of the trees died. It was kind of hard to watch so I was happy when there was a crew there on Saturday replacing the tree.

There is an astonishing amount of growth going on in Portland. There are giant cranes everywhere. Downtown, East Side and even in the river.

I was just thinking that it has been many years since I have seen a baseball game after our Triple A team moved and their stadium was upgraded and turned into a soccer stadium. I walked by there yesterday and someone asked me as I walked by about the history of the stadium and if they still played baseball there.

It was a quiet weekend for me as although Mrs. Sherlock is back from California, her 78 year old husband was determined to climb a ladder on Friday night to do something with the gutters or roof and she didn’t want to leave him and then Saturday they had their kickoff workshop at the church with the Wellspring program, which is a year long guided individually oriented path to developing one’s own effective spiritual practice.

Kes and Most Honorable came up to visit a friend and go to the newly renovated Japanese Garden but I didn’t see them.

I did go to Weight Watchers and the Farmers Market and church and I had to make a second trip to the grocery because I had three light bulbs burn out in the space of four days.

Speaking of climbing up on things that are not the most prudent, with the chairs I have I could not get the light fixture back on in my big closet and I am not sure about the security of the one in the bedroom. One needs a tall grandson as one, umm, shrinks.

The Self-Acceptance Summit is still going on and I watched or listened to hours of that and a few random podcasts as I did chores and prepped food for the week. I played with the cats and read in my history of yoga book about the influence of Indian circus contortionists on yoga as it is practiced today.

The author of this book is quite critical of my teacher’s teacher and that is an interesting perspective. I have been thinking a lot about what makes a good teacher lately as I mentioned in my last post. I so hope I can embody some of these skills.

As I get ready to let go of my Friday class I am looking around for other teaching opportunities and I checked in with the expensive senior living center that looms above us all in my neighborhood. They were pretty friendly but they don’t hire independent contractors; in house staff teaches all their wellness classes. They have a popular chair yoga class.

Taught (I found out from an acquaintance at work) by someone who is not certified in it. They say they are thinking about changing their hiring model and will keep me in mind. That would be so cool. It would take 7 minutes to get up there. And if I can sub in I am pretty confident I could start my own class.

I have a couple other places locally to check. I so hope I can find a place to teach that I can actually make a modest sum of money doing. Right now I can subsidize my teaching and licensing and insurance and continuing ed as a avocation but when I retire I won’t be able to do that and I so want to retire.

We are talking burnout central here. Quiet weekends do help. But I need to throw a little extra effort into overcoming this so I can manage to sustain myself for the next three years or so.


Last updated September 18, 2017


Deleted user September 18, 2017

I can imagine you are worn out with that job :-(.

Lyn September 18, 2017

💡Wishing you a bright future, especially in getting good yoga gigs.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.