9/13 in --

  • Sept. 13, 2017, 9 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Life’s been pretty uneventful! Just normal stuff. I have some downtime at work, so I’ll record stuff.

I did get legally married recently, but we didn’t have a ceremony and I haven’t changed my last name yet (I decided to hyphenate). Our poor child is going to have such a crazy last name. My last name is Dutch, so it’s already a little weird, and my husband’s last name is… well, he could be a character in the show Dethklok. And he had an idea to name our kid after a Tolkien character if it’s a girl (Melian). I really can’t get behind that, unless we had a more “normal” last name!

I haven’t even been at my job for a month yet, but it feels like a lot longer. I only work three days a week, but I still have no free time, it seems. They don’t lie when they say being a graduate student is hectic, but it’s even crazier because I have a million kids.

I’m always tired. I was sick this week, so I was bed-bound from nausea and sinus stuff from Friday until yesterday, when I was having stomach pain from the medication I was on and I left work early. I quit taking the medicine and I feel okay today, just kind of “bleh.” I was taking nausea medication but I don’t feel as bad as I did this past weekend. I’m hoping it stays away, although knowing me and how my body reacts to pregnancy, it probably won’t.

My (sort of) vacation to Portland, OR is in 2.5ish weeks. I am looking forward to it, since I’ve never been to Portland. My husband has a work conference he will have to attend during the day, so I’m going to try to find stuff to do by myself around town (good luck with me and social anxiety though, I might just lay around in my hotel room… which sounds good to me, honestly).

The kids are doing well. Lorelei is still having some trouble with her behavior at daycare. I have her on a waiting list for parent-child interaction therapy. Her doctor never called me back for a referral to behavior therapy at the hospital we go to for pediatrician appointments, so I’ll have to call back. I also need to set up an appointment/referral to a ENT for her.
Cannon loves kindergarten and he’s really doing well! He hasn’t seemed to make any super close friends, but he doesn’t really ever care to either. He gets along with people well, and he loves learning, so he’s loving school. Today he was very excited that it was library day. He’s reading and doing math ahead of schedule, I’m very proud of him!


Last updated September 13, 2017


Deleted user September 13, 2017

Wait... you got married?!?

martian princess Deleted user ⋅ September 13, 2017

Yep! I guess I don't talk about my relationship much, do I? Heh. He's very important to me, so I probably should.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.