Devastation in In the Kingdom of Suzu

  • Sept. 7, 2017, 3:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Our beautiful island that we have visited the past several years, Barbuda, is just about destroyed. What is especially heartbreaking—and I mean no disrespect to the devastation in Texas—but the people there are so simple, they don’t have much and even tho they are a sister island to Antigua, they are the “forgotten child”. I do not know what help will be offered to them. The lady we rent from lives in Toronto and was planning on going back down this Saturday. I doubt that she will be able to. Her father lives on Barbuda and hopefully he is ok. Haven’t heard anything as communication is down. Latest that I had seen was that people with passports (UK, Canada, US) and medical issues needed to get out as there is very little food and water and possibly Hurricaine Jose could hit them. One of the girls that worked for Kelcina is pregnant and had been in. Immunization with her family in the U.K. Up until Wednesday night and then all went silent. I think she is about 8 months pregnant. I don’t know how the people are going to get out. The airport is very small and most likely destroyed. There is a ferry so perhaps that is how they can leave. I have been watching this storm very closely because I knew that if it hit barbuda, it would devastating as the island is only a few miles wide and a few miles longer and is pretty flat. Just devastating.


ConnieK September 07, 2017

98% destroyed. It's heartbreaking. I doubt the ferry is running even if it was not damaged because waves would still be high. At this point, I think donations to Red Cross are best. Please keep us updated on your friends.

Deleted user September 07, 2017

I think only one person was killed ; an infant . They said last night many there will be evacuated to Antigua. I thought of you right away when I heard the news. They are looking to be right in the path of Jose now . It's horrible.

coffeemate September 07, 2017

I know you must be heartbroken! So sad!

🌻StillJustMe🌸 September 07, 2017

Im sorry your little bit of paradise has been destroyed. Hoping theyll get all the help they need.

Deleted user September 07, 2017

I thought of you right away when I read about Barbuda's devastation due to Hurricane Irma. Just horrible! Absolutely horrible! Please continue to keep us updated when it comes to your beloved island and island friends.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.