It's the Weather, Always the Weather in Everyday Ramblings

  • Sept. 4, 2017, 5:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is from the top of the local public stairs just after sunrise yesterday. The tram was moving very slowly. The camera “sees” things different than the eye and with the eye the sun appeared much bigger and dark dark orange like the inside of a blood orange.

The sun was like that this morning too.

It is the fires. They are everywhere. With fire and flood and all the craziness in our government, and hydrogen bomb testing it is hard not to slip into a sense of unease, even apocalyptic thinking.

With the air quality alert today we are also going to blow by a heat record, the second I believe this summer. No surprise there sadly.

I just went out to sweep the patio before it gets too hot to be out and I was scolded by a phalanx of chickadees. It is not only their territorial instinct to protect the sunflower seeds I put out that they share with the house sparrows, scrub jays and squirrels and one beautiful red breasted nuthatch. It is the water.

This summer (Carlo will tell you) that the birdbath has been almost as popular as the feeders. Oh the raccoon kits will tell you that too. Sigh.

It is so dark in the mornings now and on Saturday I put some peanuts out for the jays and seed out for the song sparrows that come at dawn before I left for my meeting and there they all were, four fast growing raccoon kits. At least we don’t have possums this year.

The air quality is not good enough for it to be healthy for a two hour hike so I probably won’t see Mrs. Sherlock now until she gets home from her trip.

I am teaching tonight but I bet with the heat expected to hit 102 (38F) this evening it will be a small class. The studio is air conditioned and quite comfortable but getting there…

Yesterday in spite of my best intentions to do housework and yoga continuing education I ended up taking a five-hour nap on the futon with the cats.

In the mail on Saturday was a Jury Summons for next month. As a person who talks a good talk these days about democracy I will of course go but while it can be interesting it is never an enjoyable way to spend time for most of us.

And disruptive for workflow too, it has been a number of years since I have been called. I used to get called all the time and I did serve on a jury once that could not come to a consensus. They do so many pleas these days that I think the number of jury trials are down.

I am listening to the new Louise Penny book and there is a hot courtroom element that weaves it’s way through the story.

Looking at the packaging yesterday at this low carb protein drink I have been drinking as an easy pick me up for years since before Mr. Finch got sick because I had him drinking it too as it tastes way better than Ensure I realized that it has soy protein as a main ingredient.

I know I “should” eat whole foods all the time but you know…busy life… so I found a gluten, soy, and dairy free protein drink next to it; the main protein in from green peas and almonds. I love almonds but the migraine book says I am not supposed to eat nuts.

I just naturally don’t eat a lot of things the migraine book says I shouldn’t but I have always eaten nuts. At least when I have been able to chew (and since Weight Watchers in moderation) but still I have been eating nuts. 7 raw almonds are one point. :)

Last week I got this beautiful cookbook by a local chef called The Book of Greens. One thing I know I can do that is useful and good is to eat more greens. I was astonished last year to realize after all those dandelions I encountered as a kid that one could eat the greens.

I am excited to drop down into this particular dietary rabbit hole.

While we all wait and hope for and fear the fall rains.


Last updated September 04, 2017


Lyn September 04, 2017

Be cool!

Deleted user September 07, 2017

Just be sure any dandelion greens you eat have not been sprayed , that would not be a risk of you are buying them from a market though.

Ragdolls September 08, 2017

All of the fires and hurricanes makes me feel so helpless. I'm not affected much here(hazy orange sun and rains so far) in south central Indiana but watching the TV brings tears to my eyes.

The five hour nap with your furbabies was time well spent in my opinion.

woman in the moon September 08, 2017

What we eat and why is so complicated. I look at my corn and soybeans and cows and calves and think oh........

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.