This Body, This Day in Everyday Ramblings

  • Sept. 2, 2017, 12:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I took this at dusk last night. You kind of get an idea of how fabulous the light was, the wonderful burst of color from the crepe myrtle, and all the cranes on the South Waterfront along the river.

We have a number of serious fires here and it is so sad to see so much of the state burning. Later today the intense heat will return with stagnant air and we are looking at a hazy smoke filled hot hot holiday weekend.

But last night, while warm, it felt mild and lovely.

I admit to being a bit jealous of folks who get breaks of one sort or another during the summer. I went to the grocery at lunchtime and it was an absolute madhouse in there with folks in shorts and flip flops buying lots of provisions for picnics and time with family and friends.

And a lot of alcohol.

Kes and Most Honorable are back from a relaxing week up on the Canadian island, Galiano. There was a problem with a pipe to the septic tank one day but otherwise it seems they had a marvelous time.

Miss E. is off crewing a big sailing ship, something she loves to do, who knew? She’ll be back for school and her 17th birthday next week. Her 17th birthday?!? How on earth can that be?

Apparently there is a trip to New York planned in October as well.

Mrs. Sherlock and I are planning a loop walk along the river tomorrow. I think we are being perhaps a bit too ambitious. What we have planned is 5.4 miles half way. It is going to get hot so my guess is that we will cut it short. We usually hike between 4 an 5 miles. Although we did walk almost 14 miles in one day a couple of years ago. Hmmm…

I told the owners of the studio that I won’t be teaching the Friday class after this month. They were fine with that and I think they might still give me the lower rate even though I will only be teaching two classes a week there.

They like me and want to keep my classes there. I was opening the curtains on Monday after class and about half the class was putting props away and getting their shoes on and chatting and I was watching a woman who had been looking at the signs for classes posted on the window watching everyone chat and laugh from outside.

It seemed like it looked appealing to her.

Anyway this means I only will be teaching five more Friday classes and then I’ll have a break. This is the second time I have tried a Friday early evening class and clearly I need to rethink this.

I am going to look for sub positions on a different day in close proximity to me for the fall and maybe I’ll be able to develop a whole new class out of that.

I have a mutual admiration society with my current students but they are not available for more classes at this location.

Tonight I am teaching the yoga of digestion. :)

Speaking of which, it has been about a week since I stopped eating things with gluten in them and I do feel better. I have more energy, and generally everything in vital organ land seems happier. And I have less inflammation.

Our dietary sensitivities and preferences are so unique.

I wouldn’t tell anyone not to eat gluten, just like I wouldn’t listen to someone who told me not to eat it. We get so passionate and opinionated and full of zeal when we think we have found the key to “eating clean”.

Heck, I am grateful that my living accommodations are not presently in danger from a natural or manmade disaster (as far as I know), that I have a fan and running water and internet connectivity. Oh yeah.

And a healthy supply of food that suits this particular body on this particular late summer day.


Lyn September 02, 2017

You have THE best attitude!

Deleted user September 02, 2017

I learned the hard way the dangers of not eating well. It's hard to change now but I am starting .

noko Deleted user ⋅ September 02, 2017

I do so hope you can find a path that works for you so that you can feel a bit better.

I was thinking of you on Wednesday as I was donating to the Austin Pets Alive center, which is a no kill shelter helping animals in distress because of the flooding...

Deleted user September 07, 2017

I am thinking of looking into more gluten free foods. My IBS is caused by my diet and stress , I am certain . Now there is this anemia. I am sure inflammation is an issue in all my systems . It's a issue to consider and gluten free foods are easier to find here now than even a year ago .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.