Work crap and Baby Jane in Stuff

  • Sept. 1, 2017, 2:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We’ve has this replacement store manager at work whilst our actual manager has been away doing a relief at another store, and she is the most awesome manager I’ve ever come across. In fact, she’s not actually an SM yet, but training to be one I believe, but you could have fooled me. She has all the qualities and more of what an SM should have. Another managers I’ve encountered over the years could learn a thing or two from her. She leads, she listens, she offers help, she cares and most of all, she laughs.

So anyway, I find out today through the grapevine that she’s been asking my managers about me. “Has anyone had a talk with Matt about a career?” She’s already asked me once if I want to go full-time, and now she’s really trying to get me to think about not just that, but replacing my current manager as the manager.

My problem is that I get stressed enough as it is. But I do only do 30 hours a week, so trying to complete everything in part-time hours is just impossible without help from ^cough^ lazy ^cough^ co-workers. If I did management, I wouldn’t handle it well. I’d also have to sit in on boring-ass meetings every day. I know all the other department managers don’t mind that because it’s an excuse to sit on their arses and do nothing for an hour or so, but with me, I’d be itching to get back to the work. There’s too much to do, I don’t wanna listen to an SM drone on and on about how well or bad we are doing lol.

But it’s interesting. I have respect, and it’s only from the women managers in my store. The male managers don’t leave a lot to be desired lol. Although the SM who is away is gay and is a really good manager. I’m wondering when he’ll come back and we’ll have to say goodbye to this awesome chick manager.

The whole system is changing though. I still don’t understand how it all works but I’m being given a rundown on Sunday. It’s meant to make work a lot easier on the inventory manager (HA, he doesn’t do much anyway, so that’s interesting). But if it works and it’s less taxing, then I’m all for it. All this scanning in and out warehouse-style is quite time-consuming. There will still be scanning but I think it’s more simplified. Guess I’ll find out soon enough.

I also dread the idea of doing another day of work per week. I’ve loved being part-time the last two/three years. I’m the happiest I’ve ever been, and I remember that horrid feeling when I used to work full-time of thinking, “Oh GOD, I have to go to work yet AGAIN?” lol. I wasn’t a very good full-timer, as you can see. It just wore me out, made me go numb.

If I was to be offered something, I’d need to hear what the pay packet is. Because if it’s what my manager is getting, they can forget about it. I’d basically pay back in tax what I’m getting now, give or take, I figure. Plus I know I’d be doing way more than 38 hours, knowing me. Other staff are already telling me to leave.

I was meant to have a transfer chick helping me tomorrow but apparently that’s not happening now because the ASM keeps putting more people on when he’s on on a Monday, and therefore by the time the weekend rolls around, he’s completely overblown the wages budget. Hence why I’ve been by myself lately and having to do everything, because he’s leaving me absolutely screwed. The chick manager had a go at him about it.

So that’s my work story. Be interesting to see what happens.

I’ve got to go to sleep as it’s late and I have another early start, but I just wanted to say I just got back from a screening of “Whatever Happened To Baby Jane” at a theatre in the city. A guy I know does all these retro events, and I hadn’t been to one in ages, so I forced myself to stay away after work today, and went down to it, since I could walk there from my place. My friend Julian was attending also. Kristian recognized me and mentioned that he hadn’t seen me in ages. It’s true. I generally only ever attend the 90’s disco’s, and since working every weekend, even they’ve been few and far between. But man he looks so good still! I think he’s older than me but still looks like he’s 21.

I loved the movie btw. I can’t believe I’d never seen it. I was inspired by watching “Feud” on Netflix I suppose, but I could totally see how it all tied together.
Also hard to believe it came out 21 years before I was born.


Complicated Disaster September 01, 2017

People don't leave jobs, people leave managers. Just sayin'

crunchie Complicated Disaster ⋅ September 02, 2017

I've never heard this expression but it's about right!

crunchie September 02, 2017

That's good that she thinks you have what it takes to be a manager.

kmh. September 05, 2017

It's great they think of you so highly, and I agree; you'd be an awesome manager, you have such strong work ethic and you're logical.
But... if you are happy with what you're doing now, it IS a big choice.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.