Not Perfect, Not Permanent, Not Personal in Everyday Ramblings

  • Aug. 24, 2017, 12:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The title today I borrowed from an interview in Yoga Journal with the yoga teacher Lauren Eckstrom that she learned from her meditation teacher Ruth King. I love this little mantra, as it is so helpful when I am getting spun out about teaching.

Or anything else for that matter.

I am taking today and tomorrow off work. Mrs. Sherlock offered in class last night that I could join her for a 28-mile bike ride in the Gorge this morning. Ha, ha ha, I responded.

Not a chance.

After I lounged around listening to a wonderful taped video interview with Kristin Neff the amazing researcher and teacher on self-compassion I went for a slow walk in my neck of the woods listening to history lectures on India.

I took this picture of a nascent crepe myrtle heralding Fall bending towards this much patched and historic street named after Walter Chiles Whitaker, a Union General as all the East/West streets around here are.

He was apparently wounded a number of times, developed a serious enough drinking problem that caused him to be institutionalized for a spell and died at the age I am now after a stint as a criminal attorney in the state of Kentucky. He is the person that proposed that Kentucky enter the Civil War on the Union side after a period of neutrality.

These street names are kind of the opposite of Confederate monuments and somewhat unusual as Oregon has a history of being a profoundly racist state. I like to think of the street naming over here as being a bit subversive.

On Tuesday I got on a bus to go to the grocery and as I was heading to the back of the bus while it pulled out into traffic after picking me up the driver slammed on the brakes really hard. I was holding on to poles on each side of the aisle, as I am an experienced rider and was familiar with this surly woman driver’s tendency to start and stop abruptly.

Even with that I was jerked violently forward and then back. Out of the corner of my eye I saw a young woman with ear buds was passing in front of the bus, but I have no idea if she had the light or not.

It was quite shocking to be jerked so hard and I slammed the back of my upper left arm into the pole I was holding onto and even though I do not bruise easily and put arnica gel on the area I am bruised there.

Everybody on the bus gasped and asked if I was okay. Except for the driver who didn’t even acknowledge the incident. If I had not been holding on as I was I would have slammed head first into the upper back part of the bus.

I calmly sat down, returned my breathing to normal and got my phone out and typed in the bus number and the time. And when I got home I reported the incident. They tell me they will advise her manager.

Won’t be taking that bus again until I am sure she is no longer on the route. What a stupid hassle.

Yet more reason to take the day off and rest.

Unambitious and with no obligations I am saving chores for later, no place to go, nothing to do…but rest.

The cats seem to be just fine with this.


Last updated August 24, 2017


Lyn August 24, 2017

The cats are very wise. 😼

Marg August 25, 2017

I'm so glad you reported her - she's a danger to her passengers! Cats do 'rest' like no other creature on the planet - I have 2 draped over various parts of my body right now😊

noko Marg ⋅ August 25, 2017

Awww... Happy cats.

Marg noko ⋅ August 26, 2017

😊

mcbee August 25, 2017

I'm glad you reported the bus driver, people can be so rude in our world today. :(

Deleted user August 25, 2017

Glad you made a report. She is going to seriously hurt someone some day .

ODSago August 25, 2017

OUCH! Just reading about it has me rubbing my shoulder/arm area. Sorry but of course you did the right thing. Enjoy the rest of your time off. I like thinking that you have these days to yourself.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.