It's time to put it down... in PUBLIC

  • Jan. 31, 2014, 9:36 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I'm currently in the throes of illness, having run fever all day yesterday and battling a mean stomach bug (Hello norovirus, you bastard!!), but there's some unfinished business to do now that my fever has broken.

It was time to delete my diary on OD.

My mouse hovered over the "Diary Maintenance" link for the last time, clicked it, and slowly scrolled down to the link to "Delete Diary" - and admittedly, I hesitated. Wild, frantic thoughts ran through my head, like, "What are you doing?" "What if it comes back?" "This is 12 years of your life!"

I had to remind myself, that OD is a chapter of my life that has come to an end. It's not coming back, and I'm hurt and let down that instead of rising from the ashes, that OD is coming to a close with a thunderous, sheet-ripping fart, with the horrendous, scent that threatens to singe your nostrils included.

With a renewed sense of purpose, I laid to rest 12 years of chronicles of my life.

I'll admit, emotionally, it's comparable to having the kindness and mercy to put down a beloved pet.


Ditch Witch January 31, 2014

you should have a funeral for it..people will bring you food and flowers...

then OD is dead..you dont have to cook..and your house smells nice..

Soul Karma Ditch Witch ⋅ January 31, 2014

By God this is the most brilliant idea I've heard so far! LOL! Free food AND flowers?!?! OF COURSE!!

mutedexposure January 31, 2014

I havent done it yet. I am still trying to figure out why it wont let me download stuff from 99-03. I may have an old download around here but without being sure I am terrified of losing all that.

Soul Karma mutedexposure ⋅ January 31, 2014

If I lose it, then it's lost. It's my fault for not backing up those on my own before ever saving them on OD. I'll be much more careful in the future, I'm sure.

read.my.lips January 31, 2014

Hugs. I'm just ignoring my diary. Lol

Soul Karma read.my.lips ⋅ January 31, 2014

Each one of us has our own ways of doing it. LOL!

Dream Daemon February 05, 2014

Oh hell, if i'd known YOU were here I would have found another home. You just can't get the bloody staff!! ;-)

Soul Karma Dream Daemon ⋅ February 06, 2014

LOL! Welcome to hell, my friend! Nice to see you on board!

aglow February 05, 2014

I can't even lie, I put my hand up to the screen and left it there while the last 14 years of my life were whisked away. It felt like so much more than just clicking "delete," but at the same time, totally refreshing. It was definitely time for OD to go.

Soul Karma aglow ⋅ February 06, 2014

I understand.
It still smarted just a bit to say goodbye for the last time...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.