OH, SCHOOL in Postcards 4

  • Aug. 17, 2017, 10:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public


Zoe, 2017

Zoe started school today. Margot dropped her off with friends to walk the last several blocks. Seventh grade….I remember it well. I asked George where he was in seventh grade, and he replied Trinidad Colorado…he was back there in the middle of the school year…or the end. He walked six or seven blocks pretty much level all the way. Zoe is living in the middle of a gang territory, so she gets rides in the morning.

I have no idea how I got to school but I clearly remember what I wore: a lined wool tweed pencil skirt, and a seafoam green wool sweater set that I wore at boarding school the previous year. May I add that it was really hot that day. Really hot.

Today Zoe starts school on a cool morning. Escondido has some of those really hot temperatures year round. Schools are air conditioned now. Neither G’s school nor mine had AC. His school was at a high elevation, and mine was a WPA structure…with some beautiful tiles.

Margot reported that Zoe looked really embarrassed when she drove by the gaggle of girls and honked this morning. We all three laughed.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: Gym, work, and out to dinner location TBA later.

  • Herself: Pool, write, work to photograph the hopefull giant National Thrift Shop day crowds. Quilt…I’m stuck again.

  • Reading: Preston&Child: “The Cabinet of Curiosities.” Something new for me as I don’t usually read Child.

  • Gratitude’s: That we are here and ok.


Hillbilly Princess August 17, 2017

Such a pretty girl

Pies on a Carousel August 17, 2017

Funny that you remember what you wore.

The idea of school being air conditioned seems fascinating to me. I remember sitting in class sweating.

Zipster August 17, 2017

What a beauty, she with a Mona Lisa smile. I can't believe you remember the first day of junior high. I have no memory of mine.

GypsyWynd August 17, 2017

Zoe is lovely. What an enigmatic smile.
I have no idea what I wore the first day of junior high. Our schools didn't have a/c. It wasn't too bad in Sept when school started, but I remember some pretty sweaty, hot days in late June, before school ended.

NorthernSeeker August 17, 2017

Best wishes to Zoe...I hope she finds more things she likes than dislikes about school. There is something savage about school...I hope Zoe is self-possessed. Sometimes I had a ride to school but we always had to walk home.

Deleted user August 22, 2017

She is pretty !

Marg August 25, 2017

'Tis the duty of the parents to embarrass!😄

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.