09 in Summer 2017

  • Aug. 10, 2017, 1:44 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Not a lot going on, just a waiting game on things.

Today’s big thing is getting a Tysabri recharge, the first since I got cast aside from my position. The timing isn’t working out exactly as I would have liked, but....

I’m wondering what I can push for a group I’ve been helping string along some rather dated broadcast equipment. No, going to Windows 7 isn’t going to fix things. Really.

Have you ever felt that you were singled out even though someone else was actually breaking the rules but you weren’t?

If you claim someone is “breaking the rules,” cite them.

So much of what I’ve encountered the past few years is people speaking authoritatively, without a single bit of support; argument from authority. Far too often, especially in my (former) line of work, people establish themselves as authorities, and don’t accept one bit of second-guessing. Even attempting to do so results in strong rebuke.

That said, it’s not just in what I was trying to do for work. It attaches to many, many, many aspects of life. How dare you even question Al Gore’s authoritative tome on climate change? It’s science. So, too, is whatever Paul Krugman regurgitates on economics; he has a Nobel Prize.

In anything, your have to make your argument, cite back to something, not someone, that is actually authoritative.

To me, it’s not that big a deal; I did that consistently in my studies.

Listening to the Reason Podcasts isn’t really conducive to keeping focused on this. So I’ll stop. Maybe something more substantive tomorrow.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.