The Weaker Sex - Ha! (Small Rant) in Everyday Ramblings

  • Aug. 8, 2017, 8:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am wondering today if we have perhaps done the men in our lives a disservice by being kind and indulging them in the fantasy that they are stronger and more resilient than women.

Sure they are biologically stronger in many senses, no argument there. Bigger noses means more oxygen and therefore more lean muscle mass, I grant you that, but in spite of what they may think that doesn’t make them better able to tolerate stress.

I hate to burst your bubble Mr. James Damore, formerly of Google, but you have been living in a delusional state.

When I know how strong I have had to be to navigate my life…and I think it only a shadow of how strong women have needed to be through time…

It is an interesting thing, a quirk of being human and female in this time and place that I know, and you know that women humor men about this being tougher thing.

Sometimes I wonder if straight men in particular even have a clue…

I listen to our president, a weak insecure delusional person posturing in this terrifying way with North Korea and I think maybe it is time to stop humoring men and let them know just how tough we are.

Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska] is one tough cookie. …The Senator tore her ACL, MCL and her lateral meniscus when she tumbled on a mogul run at an Alaska ski slope in March 2009. She took her gimpy leg onto a red-eye and made it back to D.C. for a vote the very next morning! Off crutches now but still in pain, said her spokesman. She’s missed only one vote…

I just want to say, not because I want any admiration but maybe some validation that these surgeries have been hard. Painful, expensive, scary and hard. I don’t want to whine about them, have no interest in that but maybe just acknowledgement that we are tough.

A number of you are going through life experiences that are equally as tough.

No we are not equally represented in tech companies and making the big bucks and getting free breakfast at work because we can’t handle stress.

We aren’t equally represented and compensated because we are discriminated against. By arrogant weak men who suffer under the misconception that they work hard and deserve the very best!

When I think about how perfect the Obamas had to be, how much harder they had to work to be taken seriously, how marginalized groups of people have to be, I am thinking here of the writings of Frederick Douglass, who was born enslaved, and what effort everybody who does not look like young Mr. James Damore has to make just to be taken seriously in the world!

Okay I am done now. The picture is from up on the road behind my place and the corner of the Chart House restaurant known for it’s spectacular view about an hour ago with heavy smoke in the air.

I am sure that is affecting my mood.

My class last night was big and cheerful and good for the soul.


Last updated August 08, 2017


woman in the moon August 08, 2017

I'm glad too that your class was big and happy and successful.

I see those pictures of OLD WHITE MEN and think that they are doing all this on purpose. They are taking power from people who aren't like them for any reason. It's like a power play that is happening on purpose to a great degree. They are saving all the good stuff for themselves. They feel they deserve it. Shakespeare was male and white and English even. Just keep going.
Life is not easy for many people. I acknowledge your hard times, the things you have overcome and will continue to overcome. Many men do not have easy lives either but whole categories of people should not be shut out of opportunity.
So there.

Lyn August 08, 2017

Brava! 👏

mcbee August 09, 2017

Amen!

Deleted user August 11, 2017

You go girl!

Marg August 12, 2017

It sometimes seems like we're regressing not progressing.

Deleted user August 13, 2017

Women have always had harder lives (unless they were rich ) because we and our children are still unofficially thought of as "chattel." I am not saying many men have not worked themselves to death and suffered horribly , but I would guess the numbers of women subjected to daily horrors have been larger . Recorded history indicates that . We also have needed to be tough and survivors because without us our children don't survive, therefore it threatens the entire species.

edna million August 18, 2017

Fantastic rant! This world seems to be taking a bizarre and scary turn, when you'd think we'd be over the whole white male superiority thing.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.