SMALL PROJECTS in Postcards 4

  • Aug. 5, 2017, 9:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I must confess what you already knew…I’m a slob.

I take jewelry off and put it in a pot on top of my dresser. I don’t just throw things around anymore, I don’t decorate with my bracelets on nails. I no longer just put things on any surface, I use a container. This is progress, you know. One of my projects for the day was to put these things in the overflowing jewelry pot away in the official spot.

I use a very small bowl so thing can’t get too far out of control.

Another quiet project for this afternoon was to sort out the tiny art gallery in the bathroom. I’m using one of those metal holders that came with desk sets at the turn of two centuries ago. If dear friends send post cards, I save the good ones for this mini gallery. I rotate them around according to my sense of humor for the day.

Comic Con has also proved an endless source of small art. Almost every art booth on the main floor offers a post card advertising their wares. Book sellers offer rows of books and cute bookmarks too. A dedicated swag hunter can pick up enough tiny art to keep themselves amused until another year.

I found Moya Hahn’s work here. This woman has a great imagination that she uses to create an unusual beauty. I can’t afford her work, but have bought a couple of her postcards. Another artist with a totally different and more traditional comic style is Travis Hanson. He continually surprises me by his quirky imagination. Sucks me right in.

These and many other traditional artists amuse me every day right in front of my face on a tiny shelf. (As I forget to hang up my accessories.)
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself:

  • Herself: Doesn’t Photobucket know that Facebook will host pictures for free? Finally got started on a less traditional design on the quilt for Bobbie. So far abstractions please me.

  • Reading: Perry 4

  • Gratitude’s: That quilt moving out at last.


ODSago August 06, 2017

love the tiny art exhibit idea

My past home's laundry room housed my folk art; here there is not one place to hang it together but i have most of it hung with other art I've had framed.

Hillbilly Princess August 06, 2017

NorthernSeeker August 07, 2017

Thanks for posting those links to Hahn and Hanson. They both have a lean towards graphic art and Hahn is political. It's cool to see the artists you like. The mini gallery in your washroom is brilliant.

Marg August 07, 2017

That wee gallery in your loo is a great idea! I confess to having a place to drop jewellery as well - mine's an Art Deco brass tray - I think it was originally supposed to be for visitors cards! In another life.

Deleted user August 07, 2017

I love unique postcards . I put my jewelry on a tray if I am wearing it but away in a box if I am not .

Narrator August 08, 2017

What a nifty idea!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.