At the Crossroads in Everyday Ramblings

  • Aug. 4, 2017, 6:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is the crossroads at the top of the trail where we turned around on our bike ride on Tuesday.

On the ride I was trying to estimate based on how I was feeling how much further I could go and a little while before this Most Honorable had called out, “Two minutes!” and I was yeah I can do two minutes. I can. It is only two minutes.

And I did make it as you can see.

This was much on my mind as I was experiencing my dental surgery yesterday. If I can push through for two minutes on the bike I can get through two more minutes of this…ummm…sensation.

The whole thing took about 2 ½ hours. We did have to stop at one point to (how do you say?) enhance the numbness, as what I was feeling was beyond pressure and sensation.

Everything went well. And it is over. I’ll have another small procedure in December with a few stitches but the remodeling is done done done done!

It was about 102 (39C) when I finished and we went out in it (me with an ice pack on my face) to walk a few blocks to the connected outpatient pharmacy afterwards. Although it was a record, it wasn’t as high as they had expected but sadly only because the air quality was so bad from the wildfires that it kept us a few degrees cooler.

We dropped off the prescriptions (steroids and pain medicine to go with the antiseptic rinse and antibiotics), walked back to the car (Kes had come up to the clinic to wait in the air conditioning after the surgery started) and Kes drove me home and then went back and got the medicine.

My surgeon wanted me to take a big dose of steroids last night to help with what was going to be some pretty spectacular swelling.

Then we did ice pack shifts for the next five hours. The net result of this is that you can barely tell how extensive the work I had done was.

Except for the fact that I am really tired.

It has been an extremely lazy day. We did go grocery shopping, that was the extent of my ambition and Kes went home midday.

Tomorrow my big ambition is to get to the farmer’s market for fresh tomatoes and Sunday to go to church.

No Fitbit challenges for this woman in the next few days!

I have a lot of stitches, some of them re-absorbable and some not. Eating solid food will be a surmountable challenge if I am very very careful.

Have I mentioned that it is over? Done, Fini, end of story, all downhill the whole way home?

Other then saving for a new bike and hearing aides I now want to plan a trip away someplace engaging and fascinating and for at least a full week. No teaching, no work, no wild and crazy cat boys. I love the cats and love being with them but a break would be healthy for us all.

It is only 95 (35C) out there now but the wind hasn’t come up yet. Tomorrow should be better. At least here where it is not burning.

As I was telling Kes before she left to go home…I am very relaxed…from the neck down.

I am so glad this work is drawing to a close. Wow.


Lyn August 04, 2017

Congrats on surviving the dental stuff.

Try to stay cool, or at least not melt.

woman in the moon August 04, 2017

Glad you're done with the dentistry too. Have a good quiet weekend.

Deleted user August 05, 2017

Yeah!!! Congrats dental work is over !

Deleted user August 06, 2017

I did not know that it gets so hot where you are.

ODSago August 06, 2017

The temperatures there are shocking to me, and most likely there are many homes not completely air conditioned. Concerns. So impressive that you are at the end of your dental surgery...I hope you'll never need more. Your physicality probably will bring you years of mobility that many of us will not enjoy--you earn that. Also...wanted to say how I enjoyed catching up on your reports here and also that you enjoyed architecture when a student...which helps me understand your fascination with the stories of the old homes there. I've enjoyed that when reading.

edna million August 18, 2017

Very glad it went so well! And yay for trip planning!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.