3w6d + planning in Baby Stuff, Part 3

  • July 31, 2017, 10:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I will officially miss my period tomorrow. I’m pretty confident in that.

I am pretty shocked that I found out five days before my missed period. And it wasn’t even an ambiguous test – it was very clear (I have included line progression photos from 9 days past ovulation until today, 13 days past ovulation). I used to think people that got positive tests at nine days past ovulation were most likely just iffy on their ovulation date, and it was probably later… but I know that mine definitely wasn’t.

This will be the last time that I do this. This is my third child. The other two pregnancies were not exactly sunshine and rainbows most of the time (although I do look forward to feeling the baby move around and having a cute belly).

I’m still sort of cautious. I have never been aware that I was pregnant this early on. A lot could go wrong. If it does, my plan is that I will just be done with pregnancy and not try to conceive again.

I’m mostly nervous about how well I will do at my job. I might be starting a new one in a couple of weeks (or going back to my old one). I know that my brain isn’t totally clear during pregnancy and I’m worried about feeling very sick again. I’m sure I will get through it – after all, this was something I thought about when we were deliberately trying to get pregnant. It’s still something I worry about.

So, it’s mostly just going to be getting ducks in a row and working around things. My due date is about a month before I graduate, so I’m going to have to finagle that too. I’m definitely not dropping out of school during my last semester! I’ll find a way to make it work. It’s nothing I haven’t done before. :) And I’ve always been in the camp that I can have a family AND get an education. I never wanted to have to choose between them and I still don’t. I am planning on studying for and taking the GRE a little earlier since I wanted to take it in April, but my due date is in early April. The GRE is a test I need to take to get into a PhD program.

We have to move in February to the Kansas side of Kansas City because unfortunately the University of Kansas requires in-state tuition rates, even if you live in the Kansas City metro (and they even have a Kansas City campus!). It’s irritating because my current school has the metro rate, where you can live on either side of the state line and pay the same tuition as an in-state student. My partner wants to go to KU for their master’s program in health administration, so it’ll benefit both of us.

As far as the cars go… neither of our cars will even fit three car seats, plus the two that the stepkids have. So, the plan is to trade both cars in for a van. YEAH, I never wanted a van, but at this point I guess it’s imperative. uuuugh. They are so hard to drive. We’ll just have to be a one-car family for awhile. I’m going to look for a job a couple of months after I graduate and who knows how long it’ll take me to actually find one. I won’t be able to start my PhD (if I get accepted) until fall 2019 because of the stupid tuition thing.

Anyway! I’ve been feeling mostly fine. I have had some queasiness, but nothing I can’t deal with. So far I’m having the most trouble with fatigue. I’ve already needed midday naps. I’m cranky AF. One of the things that tipped me off that I could be pregnant was that I was more agitated than usual. I also cried because I thought that Chinese food couldn’t be delivered to our house. My boobs are very tender and hurt quite a bit sometimes. I have to pee a lot. Normal stuff.

I also have my new ob/gyn practice chosen and I will make an appointment with them tomorrow!

Here’s the line progression photo I was talking about from 9 days past ovulation to today, 13 days past ovulation:


Last updated July 31, 2017


NeonLady July 31, 2017

Wow, yep, definitely pregnant! Exciting!

martian princess NeonLady ⋅ July 31, 2017

I was shocked over the weekend, but I'm now I'm starting to feel more excited! Even if I tried really hard to get pregnant (it took four months) it still didn't shock me less for some reason!

Deleted user August 01, 2017

So exciting!!

Chaosbride August 05, 2017

!! Definitely gonna be rocking a mom van XD

not gummies August 07, 2017

congrats

JustSurviveSomehow September 07, 2017

I did not realize that a test would detect that early! Congratulations!

martian princess JustSurviveSomehow ⋅ September 07, 2017

Me either, to be honest. I was super shocked.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.