Sunday Morning in New Diary

  • July 30, 2017, 3:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I survived Saturday. I was really depressed Saturday morning. I am feeling a little bit better today. I listened to Celtic Women on You Tube all morning. That helped with the depression and anxiety I read for a couple of hours. I started reading a new book Revolutionary Summer: The Birth of American Independence by Joseph J Ellis. I read for a couple of hours . This is lot easier to understand and very interesting. I think I am going to enjoy this book.

I was thinking a lot about my two main mental illnesses, depression and anxiety. There is no real cure . I was first diagnosed when I was sixteen. They have been with me all my life. I felt I have had long periods where they were not as severe. But they were always there lurking in the background. They would surface and I would get very depressed for long periods of time. One time I tried to commit suicide by taking a bottle of pills. I ended up in the hospital having my stomach pumped. This was in my late twenties.

I had real bad breakdown back in the early 90s I was at this bridge . I was yelling and cussing my fool head off,. Cops came to pick me up and they took me to the hospital. I ended up with Healthways AT the time they had a crisis residential unit. I stayed there for a while. They helped me get on SSI. I was able to move out on my own. That was the best thing that ever happened to me but I still suffered from depression and anxiety.

I learned to live with this. Instead of struggling against this I accept the fact that I am going through it. I experience what I call the bad thoughts I let them flow through my head. Thoughts are only thoughts. I do not have to act on them . I do have coping skills for these times. I listen to music. I read a lot. I play endless chess games. I also remind myself of all the good things I have and I truly feel blessed. Life does not seem too bad.

Yes I feel better today. I’m not going to try to think of things too much. I’m going to read my book and listen to music


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.