My mind's not right in Well now

  • July 25, 2017, 7:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Polluted.
Simply polluted.
I am not in control of my mind’s autocorrect.

I watch, well actually listen, to too much television.
I need the background noise.
I always have.

A child of the sixties and survivor of all the decades that followed,
I’ve internalized a lot, a whole lot of that noise
and often parrot it back silently
and automatically when triggered by new tele-babble.

The captain on the adventure program commands, “Set a course for…”
And a voice in my head jumps in, singing no less,
“…for adventure, your mind on a new romance.”
Peppy music behind the words - “The Love Boat soon will be making another run…“

Then there’s that other thing.
Every battle scene with the line - “Fire at will!”
Makes me shake my head and wonder, “Who the hell is this Will person
and why does everyone hate him so aggressively?”

Yep.
Television.
It rots your brain.


Last updated July 25, 2017


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.