Just a Few More and Relief in Everyday Ramblings

  • July 22, 2017, 4:42 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Oh gosh I am so relieved, I just talked to a representative of the city/county tax department and she exempted my yoga business from any penalties or taxes for last year and told me how to handle the forms for next year. My tax person must be on vacation. No wait, how funny, she just called back. Yippee.

I do however owe some more money than I expected on a medical expense because a particular deductible had not been met so I need to commune with by budget a bit more to see if I can afford that new bike.

Why does this all have to be so complicated???

Last weekend I did take my old bike out for a spin and that was if not fun (well, it was sort of fun, I can see how with the right bike and more practice and conditioning it could be really fun, I loved riding my bike as a kid) it was certainly aerobic.

I finished my push up challenge with 10 perfect to the floor “boy” push ups and now I need to maintain that strength.

With a course of probiotics and some tinkering I have come to the conclusion that I am most likely allergic to soy and maybe corn as well as being generally seasonally allergic. I am still working through all this but I think I may have gotten to the bottom of all this inflammation.

My mother spoiled me with sugary treats when I was a kid. It was a time of great transition in the way Americans ate and all these wonderful easy treats were coming on the market, soda and cakes and things like pudding. We experimented with them all.

So here I am in my 60’s letting them go. I am eating less sugar and sweet stuff in general than I ever have since I was little and yet I’d been gaining weight.

It seems like the combination with getting the right mix of gut bacteria, staying away from foods I have sensitivities to and not taking over the counter antihistamines is the answer.

I want to get this hammered down because I so don’t want to gain any more weight and the super-abundance of summer fruit and now yummy fresh tomatoes are not going to last for more than a few more months.

It is just under two weeks until my next surgery. I intend to enjoy the heck out of them.

Mrs. Sherlock is taking me on a hike in a nearby town tomorrow morning. She took her hiking group there last week and she wants to explore with me some areas she didn’t get to then because she has some women in their late 80’s on her group hikes and she needs to be relatively close to water and restrooms with them as it is a club rule for these urban hikes.

I have two new students that I think are keepers. And one is a guy, a social justice advocate and geology professor who seems to specialize in tribal intricacies in terms of land management.

And my former IT person and his partner say they are coming back in the fall. We really miss them as they are great fun and add something special to the classes. They have been doing all sorts of fun things this summer including their weekend gig as lighthouse keepers.

I know I keep saying this but I really do only need a few more regular students to make a steady go of this financially.

My new podcast find is… Revisionist History
with Malcolm Gladwell. It is so smart and makes me think. I love it even when the subject matter is on the dark side.

He’s Canadian, Mr. Gladwell. :)


Last updated July 22, 2017


woman in the moon July 22, 2017

What we eat and what makes us happy sure can vary. I am quite happy with my three Nos. No soda, no sugar, no wheat. Sometimes I eat a lot of corn chips but I'm trying to avoid them too now. Though I don't want four rules. And soy - I haven't paid attention.
I wish you a few more committed students. I like the collaborative aspect to your classes. I'm thinking of unrolling my yoga mat and seeing what I can remember from the yoga-pilates class I used to take. I'm thinking of setting a time(2) - maybe 12 hrs apart - like 3pm, 3am. Not that I'd do it both times for sure or even one time for sure - but the structure might help. Any ideas for favorable yoga time? 5am to 8am are used up already.

noko woman in the moon ⋅ July 22, 2017

The best time to practice yoga is the time you are most likely to do it. :) If you are practicing before bed you'll want to do a calming practice and after getting up a more energetic one. Or in the middle of the day a balanced practice. You can try the chair practice here with my teacher Olga. https://www.youtube.com/user/sequencewizvideo

Deleted user July 22, 2017

You're right... why does it have to be so complicated! I was reading just yesterday how a lot of First Nations families are not claiming the child credit due to them, simply because they haven't done their income taxes. Income taxes can be a royal pain depending on your employment situation... and honestly, why it all has to be so complicated is beyond me.

Ten boy push-ups is pretty amazing! I like what you wrote about food too. If you're interested, check out 'Wired to Eat', a new book by Robb Wolf. I've been following him for years and he knows his stuff. It's a fascinating book - I am sure your library will have it.

Deleted user July 22, 2017

Crossing my fingers and toes you get those students ! Weekend lighthouse keepers! I would love it !

Deleted user July 22, 2017

We have an accountant do our taxes too. It does not cost that much and it's worth it , not to have to worry about errors .

edna million August 04, 2017

I have the opposite eating-issues-from-the-parent, in that my mom hardly ever let us have sugary food and junk, so when I feel especially rebellious or I'm needing to feel special (because we DID get treats on special occasions), I find myself doing things like eating a carton of ice cream or a bag of chips! Darned parents- they can't do anything right!

I'm allergic to soy - bizarrely enough, it makes the insides of my ears itch.

noko edna million ⋅ August 05, 2017

Oh this is fascinating! When I was in the middle of the bloated inflammation bit last month I kept asking myself..."But why are my ears itching so much?!?" It is a big deal with my sister too and something to consider around the time hearing aids come into the picture. Since I stopped the soy, my ears have returned to the normal odd itch now and then.

edna million noko ⋅ August 06, 2017

I've never known anyone else who had that reaction to soy!! And I feel very vindicated now, because more than one person has appeared to believe I am imagining things when I tell them that. Ha!!! I actually started seriously avoiding it after the whole breast cancer thing, because mine was estrogen-positive and the general consensus is it's best to avoid soy products with that kind. Which was easy since they made my ears itch. And I haven't had that problem since I quit eating it either.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.