The Hero (indie film #7) in Independent Film- 2017

  • July 18, 2017, 10:47 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

How did i feel after this? A list:

contemplative
sad
still
not happy, but content?

This is what i texted my friend last night.

An aging actor, Sam Elliot, finds out he has pancreatic cancer, and slim chances of surviving the next 5 years. He attempts to grapple with that while smoking pot/drinking whisky to ope, reaching out to his estranged daughter, meeting a younger woman (Laura Prepon, sexy as all get-out) and having a love affair, and (literally) dreaming of the one movie he was famous for, The Hero.

I loved the use of light, especially morning light and ocean light (the ocean is a silent character in this movie)

i loved this film and recommend it to you. I think the trailer will draw you in.


Deleted user July 18, 2017

Sounds interesting but the plot would be too depressing for me right now . :-(

carmentheblue Deleted user ⋅ July 18, 2017

I was surprised at how it was not super depressing. Not in a heavy-handed way. The ending was light and loving. But i totally understand. It is intimate and you see all the vulnerability, which is really hard.

WhatDreamsMayCome July 19, 2017

I'd heard about that movie on NPR. I definitely want to see it!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.