Dancing Queen in Packrat

  • July 12, 2017, 3:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The pow wow grounds are quiet now. The tents are down. The food and arts and crafts booths are gone. The speakers’ stand, elders’ arbor, and bleachers are empty; no chairs ring the arena; no drums are set up. No vehicles clog the roads. What had been like a small, bustling city is now like a place abandoned, visited only by the wind. So it will remain until next year, when we do it all over again.

Some of the vendors are already set up at another tribe’s pow wow; there’s one every weekend here.

The abandoned city truly isn’t - our maintenance department will maintain the grounds, keeping the grass cut, checking on the water, electricity, and the road conditions. Families will make improvements at their camps or have cookouts some afternoons, and tents will dot the grounds here and there for random camping weekends. Sometimes I like to have lunch at our camping area.

The RV park isn’t limited to tribal use or just during the pow wow; anymore, someone is there all the time. Our community building, communal ceremonial house, and two departments are housed along the south side of the grounds, so every day there’s traffic and human activity, plus the various activities other departments or committees hold there: meetings, funerals, honor dances, 5K runs and walks, princess contests, Easter egg hunts, Halloween festivals and hayrides. Trees grow all throughout the camp areas around the arena and the road is paved; people jog or walk there. That’s where I walked. One of the security guards measured the distance; it was almost one mile all around.

I went to the pow wow every night; they last for three nights, some four (ours starts on Thursday night), usually until at least midnight. On Friday and Saturday nights, after the dance session is completed, is a “49 contest”, a different sort of dancing and singing, and I always stay for that. They last until the wee hours.

This year wore me out. Watching the dancing was fine, but getting to the arena, carrying my chair and purse (my purse is heavy enough to be a lethal weapon), hobbling along with a cane, from my parking spot (I was lucky; I found parking near the arena every night) were the tiresome elements. Cousin M’s son was our “runner”; her knees bother her. We moaned and groaned about our creaks and aches, and I said we’re too young to be acting so old. Again we said next year we’re going to camp.

While watching the teen girls compete we laughed how at that age we wandered the perimeter of the pow wow, sitting on cars to look older; now we’re not teens or even very young women nor are we yet seniors. I joked that we’re ‘tweens.

She commented that our concern used to be “the babes” dancing but now it’s the food. A few years ago we joked that the announcement of the Golden Age men’s contest would set our hearts to racing and we’d have to hobble over quickly to watch. Maybe we shouldn’t have made that joke.

This year I had to sit out the dancing, but I was out there in my thoughts and spirit. Next year barring deaths or mishap I’ll be out there with my beaded dancing shoes!


ConnieK July 12, 2017

I wanna come see you dance!

I LOVED this entry. Thank you for showing a world unknown to me. I savored every word you wrote.

Eriu ConnieK ⋅ July 13, 2017

Thank you! I used to go on the pow wow trail every summer, as did the Coyote; he hit some of the bigger dances out of state, too. (I was always working or in school so I have yet to go to some of those.) My grandparents and an uncle used to like to set up camp early and stay late, but my mom and brother never liked pow wows much - I don't know what's wrong with the wiring in their heads! haha

NorthernSeeker July 12, 2017

I would love to go to a pow wow. Maybe one year I'll go to the Kamloopa Pow Wow...in Kamloops. Have you ever heard of it? It's pretty big. Get on your dancing shoes and practice once you are healed. Do you have any CDs you could play at home? The drums would keep me moving.

Eriu NorthernSeeker ⋅ July 13, 2017

I'm not familiar with that pow wow but I've been to Kamloops many a year ago. Beautiful country! One of the places that made me think, "I could live here." Oh, I have CDs at home, in my car, burned onto my computer at work; not only do I have CDs of drum groups I like but my cousins have drum groups, too, and are among my favorites. In fact the current musical selection playing in my car right now is of a drum group! :-)

ManitouWolf July 12, 2017

Man, it's been ages since I've been to a pow-wow. Miss it so much. Breaks my heart that I fell out of touch with my Blackfoot "sister" while dating He Who Shall Not Be Named -- even if this same psyho-ex gave me one of my most powerful spirit names that I still use today. ::chuckles:: Guess there is always a tiny bit of light even in the blackest of souls.

Anways, sorry for the ramble there. I hope you are able to dance next year!

Eriu ManitouWolf ⋅ July 13, 2017

LOL I call one of the chiefs of our tribe (from the 1800s) He Who Shall Not Be Named. Dead Files had an episode that featured a bit of our tribal history and surmised that he haunts one of our former homelands; no one here felt sorry for him, spitting out that he deserved to be stuck on this plane. It's been years since I've been to any pow wow besides our own; the Coyote and I grew close through dancing and I couldn't bear to go and see that he wasn't there. I missed our pow wow last year because my little brother died and I ended up working out of state anyway.

Oswego July 13, 2017

What a time of great energy and celebration the pow wows must be. Very interesting description. And I couldn't help but notice especially the title of this entry since I move been listening to Abba's Dancing Queen video on YouTube. Now that's a song that will stick in your head! Lol

Eriu Oswego ⋅ July 13, 2017

That's my favorite Abba song! That's one of the reasons it popped into my head. Yes! Pow wows are times of great energy and celebration, which is why I always feel a little blue when ours is over, days of high energy and then it's all gone.

Deleted user July 13, 2017

Great entry. I would love to see one !

Eriu Deleted user ⋅ July 13, 2017

Everybody is welcome to attend! I'm in Oklahoma where there are 39 federally recognized tribes, and most have pow wows; other states have them, too, but not as often as we do. I think they're fun!

Deleted user Eriu ⋅ July 13, 2017

Wow, I will have to look into that ! It sounds so interesting.

MageB July 14, 2017

What a great entry. I've given up on Purses, now I wear a backpack. Tomorrow we are off to LA, and I am taking my walker and my big backpack. Adaptaions help.

Serin July 16, 2017

Sounds like a wonderful time, and it's kind of cool to see your own progression from a teenager trying to look cool to a "tween" trying to look cool. ;)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.