Hopeful Tinkering in Everyday Ramblings

  • July 11, 2017, 12:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

On Sunday I took the train down to Salem to spend the day with Kes, Most Honorable and their cats. After lunch we went for a walk to see the new multi-use bridge (no cars or buses) that links their downtown area to the big wetland park over a slew that connects to the river that also runs through Portland.

It may not seem like a big deal to you but to us, these days with actual blue sky are like a miracle after the record-breaking rains we have had this year. The whole park area downtown was packed with families out enjoying the weather and the public space. It is so nice to be out and about without a jacket and in sandals and I did quite a bit of out and about this last weekend.

I’ve been doing my push-up challenge (10 full “boy” pushups a day) now for 23 days. Well, I forgot a day in there, so 22 days and what a sense of empowerment I have! When I started I could not lift my body off the floor with my arms, I could only start up in plank pose and do these 10 little baby full body dips. It is still effortful but not too bad but now I can do 10 full push-ups all the way down and I can lift off the floor in a straight line.

It is so cool! I feel strong. It takes approximately 26 seconds a day of effort for these demonstrable results. And! Bonus, my back hurts less.

I thought this column on aging knees was really good and I shared it with my students this week.

What I Wish I’d Known About My Knees

Consistency. I am trying to figure out how to instill that in my students.

Having a vibrant cheerful welcoming community helps. I had 10 students last night and when the class was over everyone was interacting and laughing and talking about what they were doing and how they are. I have two completely new students this cycle and three returning after being away for some time. Everybody appears to be compatible and that is a marvel.

Consistency but not routine. So whatever one does one doesn’t do on automatic but is actually present for so that in the experience the wisdom of the body speaks and lets us know how much to do when.

I am thinking about splurging and buying a new bicycle. I have a bike but it is too heavy for me to ride comfortably. I have all the accouterments. I need to get out there and get conditioned so I can ride regularly. Mrs. Sherlock rides and has been encouraging me to as well as Most Honorable.

For the last 19 months I have saved every penny practically for my dental work. And of course I am worried about the future and my financial viability in retirement.

But as long as I stay healthy I can teach and the bike does use different and opposing muscles to the ones I use most often in all my walking. I do worry about wear and tear on my hips and I do have arthritis already in my sacroiliac joints.

I also want to start swimming again. I need to find a time slot that works for that.

Changing things up is a good thing. Plus I think it might help a bit with this weight gain I am struggling with. My Weight Watchers people think it has something to do with the surgery cycle and the on again off again courses of antibiotics and the micro biome in my gut and… And all the allergy medicine I take can’t be helping either.

So I shall tinker and hope for the best… all this time knowing how grateful (and privileged) I am to have the freedom to have this kind of problem. :)


Last updated July 11, 2017


Lyn July 11, 2017

You have THE best attitude!

Glad you are enjoying blue skies.

woman in the moon July 11, 2017

I still can't imagine doing pushups. But I'm sure glad you can and are. Also all the other physical activity.
Glad the class is off to such a good start. I like seeing it from the instructor viewpoint.... having compatible people in the class would be good for everyone.

Deleted user July 13, 2017

So glad to read things are going well for you and you have been having blue skies too !

edna million July 18, 2017

You are inspiring me to work on pushups-- I currently can do the wimpy ones where you keep your knees on the ground and I hate them. But I know how good real ones are for you. And I need to work on strength training.

Weirdly enough, just yesterday I was wondering if you still ride your bike!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.