I Need A Proper Vacation in Everyday Ramblings

  • July 9, 2017, 10:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

There. I said it.

Mrs. Sherlock purchased a dinner for four; al fresco, on a farm out on Sauvie Island at an auction for this project that supports AIDS work in Africa. It was last night and she was having trouble getting two people to join her and her husband. I am sure it would have been, was, lovely but I was sort of basically done with being out it the world.

I look forward to hearing about it.

Anyway we were planning a walking adventure just south of here in Lake Oswego but when she picked me up she was frazzled and told me we were going up to Pittock Mansion up at the top of Washington Park close to her place instead. It was her week to pick our hike and she was also thinking about her obligation to lead a Trails Club hike.

To say she was preoccupied was an understatement. But unlike Most Honorable and I, when we went looking for Pittock Mansion a number of years ago and got lost we actually made it there in a relatively straightforward manner.

It was a lovely summer morning, relatively mild and there were a lot of people on the trails and a great many dogs. We also had to keep Frida reined in pretty close because the trails are narrow with a drop off. The above picture is from just in front of the mansion and shows how beautifully sited the place is.

Mr. Pittock is buried in the cemetery we got lost in last week.

We had to stop on the trail while she took phone calls about the dinner and made arrangements. This did not displease me, because she was pushing herself too hard and her breathing was ragged. I had 100 floors on my Fitbit by the time we got back to the car.

This is interesting because I had never seen this irritable side of her in all these years I have known her except for last time she was preparing for a Trails Club hike.

She is 68 now and I think she is finding that obligations feel burdensome. I was not happy about all the people and most of the dogs but still it was great to be out moving on this lovely morning.

We are taking a break next weekend as she is going to the church Women’s Retreat and I am teaching my Yoga for a World Gone Mad workshop next on Saturday and going to the Farmer’s Market.

I get to plan our next adventure.

We close Fiscal Year End 17 tomorrow morning and it is a good thing because I am so very done with it.

My summer eight-week class session through the church starts tomorrow too. I am glad it is finally here and we will see how the new pricing model works.

I have been carrying an electronic device everywhere the last three days with me so I could finish listening to the historical mystery novel I had out from the library in audiobook format. It takes place during Dickens’ time in London. Lots of poverty and bad air but also much interesting stuff about radical politics during that time that is fascinating.

That is my excuse for not leaving notes and I apologize.

This week it is yoga and more yoga and then some yoga on top of that with work thrown in.

My last surgery is in three weeks now.


Last updated July 09, 2017


Deleted user July 09, 2017

Wow, it must be a relief to write that sentence ; " My last surgery". :-)
That is too bad about Mrs. Sherlock. Stress affects most of us so negatively ..

ODSago July 09, 2017

Good to read here again and congrats on the soon end of the fiscal year

woman in the moon July 09, 2017

Yes, good luck with the yoga. Hope you get lots of compatible students.
I also wish you peaceful walks. Nothing is better than a peaceful walk. Well a good yoga session might be better.

edna million July 10, 2017

It's really nice that you take turns with the hike planning - and it sounds like Mrs. Sherlock is in need of a break! SO glad that the last surgery is in sight, too -

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.