Sharing and a New Look at Abundance in Everyday Ramblings

  • July 5, 2017, 9:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday the weather was mild (as summer goes) and clear (there was valley haze) enough to see the mountains. I always think that hydrangeas symbolize the 4th of July, our big summer holiday, and I took this picture yesterday on a mid-morning walk around the neighborhood.

It was so nice to have a holiday. I didn’t do much. I got out on the track early(ish) and did my pony thing and then came home and did some much needed housework and then went for the above mentioned walk and came home and need more much needed housework…

Then, very exciting for the cats in my life, both Kes and Most Honorable came up to visit for a few hours with provisions garnered at Costco and Trader Joe’s and the grocery and bird store. It is such a gift that they are able to pick up things for me when they shop and periodically drop them off. Keeps our net carbon footprint low(ish).

The cats adore my sister and B-I-L and I believe this adoration is mutual so there is much play and of course never with the fancy cat toy, no, yesterday Kes was down on the floor playing soccer with a grape that Diego had extracted from the small hostess bowl of grapes I had on the table.

They live in the path of the upcoming full solar eclipse and are going to have visitors, as is practically everyone in their town. We were talking about the cool new special postage stamp that our postal service is offering for the eclipse that has a picture of our sun and then if you apply warmth (say like with a thumbprint) it goes dark.

We also have a magazine exchange. I get the New York Sunday Times and The New Yorker and then I share those with them and they share them with their neighbors. And when I can get something unique at our Farmer’s Markets (like the incredible moist prunes made from local Parson’s plums) I’ll pick those up too.

I suspect in the current political climate and certainly when I retire we will be expanding this sharing network to more things.

And looking back and seeing that I have basically been a few pounds up over my Weight Watchers goal weight for a year I was thinking I need to get my weight back down those creeping five pounds because I won’t be able to afford to go to Weight Watchers and use their tools when I retire so I need to get back to Lifetime where it is all free.

I currently get vouchers from work on my health care plan.

Monday much to my surprise I had a big class, all older women and it was a cheerful group. We worked gently on our core area. I was watching an online class yesterday by Diane Bondy, she is a big deal in the current yoga world in the West. A woman of color she is big and that isn’t just a euphemism for having a large frame. She carries a lot of weight. She’s been practicing yoga since she was a kid and is very healthy.

She is a compelling advocate for all bodies practicing yoga and she said something like…”and if you have abundance in this area you can move this way…” I liked that and it definitely fits within this idea of abundance being a desirable thing that has been a cultural staple in many communities. Just not ours.

I hope I have at least a couple of students tonight.

Buy in the meantime it is back to the office and the world of work.


woman in the moon July 05, 2017

Living cooperatively, sharing are such great ideas. We don't have to do everything that way, but there are a lot of options. We can choose to live more simply and really gain from it. I am trying to 'use up' my food better. I've had two delightful meals centered on a really good celery and peanut butter. Along with apples and corn chips and maybe a piece of cheddar cheese. They were sublime. And I have totally eaten up the celery. Peanut butter is Skippy Super Chunky and in the past I would have agonized over the fact that it has sugar - but in the big picture the sugar in Skippy is minor. Next time I shop I will look for peanut butter with less sugar - I don't want to go the unhomogenized route - but if I don't like the way it tastes, I'll go back to Skippy.
Maybe when I get my house a little cleaner I'll have room to spread out my yoga mat.

Lyn July 05, 2017

The cats have good taste! 😺

Deleted user July 05, 2017

I love the books on Abundance by Sara Ban Breathnacht . I should re- read them ! Sharing is lovely . I envy you your sister . I really need to be doing something structured to work on my flexibility :-(

edna million July 06, 2017

Oh, those hydrangeas..... !!! Mine didn't bloom at all last year, weirdly - I've had them for years and they always bloom with no effort on my part-- but this year the big blue one has a ton of blooms and the other purple one is getting a few finally. No clue what happened last year.

How exciting that your sister and BIL are in the path of the eclipse! Charleston is too, and I was making big plans to go until I found that our Red Roof Inn, usually around $80 a night, is nearly TWO HUNDRED A NIGHT during the days around the eclipse. Yikes. We'll enjoy it from a little further afar!

Deleted user July 07, 2017

Lovely photo.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.