Weekend before July 4 in In the Kingdom of Suzu

  • July 1, 2017, 12:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Can’t really say July 4 weekend cuz the 4th is on Tuesday but it seems as if this weekend is being treated as such. Every July 4 weekend, there is a drum and bugle competition in town and the bands practice in the park near my house so I have been listening all morning to them. Just wish they would finish a song but they never do. Anyway, it is pleasant listening to them.

Jeff and I had a really nice date night last Saturday. “Evita” was excellent! little tidbit of info, the actress who played “evita” is from my hometown and is also an alumni of the college where the Shakespeare festival is held. I would have to go back and look on my playbills to see if we saw her in any of the college productions. She also had starred in”wicked” on Broadway and while we did see that play on Broadway, she was not in it at that time.

Sunday, we see another play, “the hound of the Baskerville” but done with a twist. It is more of a spoof of it, three actors playing all the parts and on the small stage at the college. They always put on a play on the small stage as well as having one on the main. The small stage is very intimate. We have seen a production of “gaslight”, “private lives” and I have also taken the princesses in years past to see the children’s play that they put on there during the day. The actors for the kids plays come out into the hallway then and the kids can meet them.

Guess that is it for me, hope you all have a wonderful weekend and if going anywhere, drive safe.


John62 July 01, 2017

Used to love to go to plays and movies when I had a car.

QueenSuzu John62 ⋅ July 01, 2017

wegoi spurts with seeing the plays, movies, can't remember the lasttimejeff and I went to see one. I did see a movie with my son's kids last year I think, "secret life of pets" it was pretty funny.

Deleted user July 01, 2017

We rarely go out but I love movies . Blake would always go with me . I see a lot more movie rentals in my future :-(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.