Developing Antidotes and Applying Others in Everyday Ramblings

  • June 27, 2017, 10:34 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

In the older house across the street that no one lives in is a nest of starlings. The young ones are out and about now and providing much entertainment for the cats through the various ground view windows I have because my place in built into a hill.

That built into a hill thing was most handy here with the record-breaking heat we had over the weekend. It wasn’t just hot, when it is usually not; there was a different quality to the heat, more humidity that made it oppressive.

So in spite of my best intentions it was not a very active weekend other than that long early morning walk on Saturday. This is another picture from that walk.

I finished reading one murder mystery and started another in a different series, both with the main focus being archaeology. One story takes place in Wales and the other in France.

I found myself looking up “troglodyte” yet again last night.

It is funny how we think we know what things mean and we kind of do but not exactly.

Cave dwelling (or bunker dwelling if you are rich) might become the new thing with climate change.

Hearing more about the opioid epidemic I think I am going to look around and see if I can get some training in NarCan use, (Naloxone a drug that allows people who have overdosed to survive.) There is an organization that provides services to teenagers in trouble right near the church and the studio where one can get a supply of the drug.

As there often people in the doorway of the studio building I would like to be able to keep them alive if needs be. I also really need to take and get certified in CPR. Like yesterday.

When I was 19 my boyfriend at the time (who I was living with) took his own life with a heroin overdose. It was on purpose in this case not an accident. As you can imagine this profoundly affected me for the rest of my life, coming home to find him…

Last year 59,000 people in the United States overdosed on opioids and died. Just think exponentially of all the people that has affected!

The news, the mood is so disturbing. I am looking for ways I can focus on keeping vibrancy, common sense and this idea of being “for each other” alive while at the same time keeping myself reasonably safe and comfortable.

Most Honorable, who is now on his summer break and heading into his sabbatical year is having fun coming up with ideas for things to do, an electric bike rental and a trip to the Columbia River Gorge has moved into focus as well as a nice long day hike.

I am procrastinating on something complicated at work that I need to address in the next two weeks. There is overtime involved. So the fun stuff is out there in the misty future beyond fiscal year end close.

But Mrs. Sherlock and I are going to explore a new to me park over on my side of town this next weekend and I am looking forward to that.

And I have a confession. Apparently when I fell earlier this month I destabilized my left leg a bit and was still healing so when I had my enthusiastic inner pony track running extravaganza last Monday afterwards my whole leg and hip were wonky. It was like a tendon or connective tissue were stretched or displaced so I have basically stayed off the track since then.

I was thrilled when I woke up Saturday morning to have everything basically back to normal.

And I am making much progress with my pushups. Getting stronger feels good!

Feeling good is a great antidote for disturbing news generated by self centered, self righteous people that are, ummm, delusional.


Last updated June 28, 2017


Deleted user June 27, 2017

Glad your leg is better ! You all must have gotten all the heat ! We are cool and rainy here , although the sun is shining this morning . :-)

noko Deleted user ⋅ June 27, 2017

It has definitely been Midwestern type heat with thunderstorms brewing, bleh. Glad you are getting a little break in your gloom.

Deleted user noko ⋅ June 27, 2017

It's Washington state climate here minus the great scenery ! :-)

woman in the moon June 27, 2017

First, I love the photo. I wish I had some pink lilies like that. And I like the wood cutout horse or maybe dog in the window of the house.
Lots in your entry. The opioid thing is beyond understanding. How tragic about your boyfriend. I cannot imagine. I'm glad you're looking for ways to be helpful in this world - you have a broad reach.
I would like to do pushups... not sure if I have any motivation to try. Told my son I needed to carry wood and hay bales for my upper body strength.
It's been cool here. 55 degrees. Sisterinlaw's furnace came on.

noko woman in the moon ⋅ June 27, 2017

I love that detail in the picture too, I do think it is a little horse. I would think that with all you do, your daily activities that your upper body strength would be pretty good compared to us city dwellers. :)

Lyn June 27, 2017

Your pic is very rich. Cool that the boys have their own cable. 🐤

You'll Excel at your new project.

My grand jury duty last year was eye opening about the incredible amount of crime related to opiods (buying, selling, using, theft to raise money to buy, etc., etc.). Incredibly huge problem that affects so many, so many deaths. I admire your desire to do something.

edna million June 27, 2017

I can't imagine what it was like to find your boyfriend after an overdose, especially intentional. It would change how you see everything. It's very frightening to think about how much worse things are going to get for people with addictions if this "health care" bill manages to pass in any form. The level of delusion is astounding. I heard this morning that Kellyanne Conway said in an interview on This Week that Medicare isn't necessary anyhow - people who are on Medicare can just get a job with insurance, and they'll be fine.

What a gorgeous photo - VERY summer!

Deleted user June 28, 2017

Oh how sad about your boyfriend. I am sure that is something one just cannot forget.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.