Reality check in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • June 23, 2017, 11:57 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was reminded of this by the lovely Krebiz earlier. So. Here goes.

WHERE: on the sofa in the living room, in mermaids position which is a no no for runners! Talaia is on the other sofa surfing YouTube (and probably still commenting - I haven’t approached the issue yet). Lila just stomped upstairs - the reason is so petty it isn’t worth going into!

WEARING: my work clothes which, today, consist of black leggings and a Joe Brown dress in denim blue and a rose pink pattern. On one wrist is my watch and the other is my veryfit - a bit like a fitbit but cheaper. Yes, I have succumbed! Only because the online running friends I have are doing another challenge but it’s based on footsteps taken.

FITNESS UPDATE: I’m probably fit. Tonight should have been the last ice cream bribery run but I’m too bloody exhausted. I’ll go tomorrow when Rich is back (after hugging him of course!)

IN THE NEWS: in Britain, a lot of chatter has been about the queen’s potentially EU inspired clothing during her speech the other day. In America, the queen is being berated for not wearing a seatbelt. I can imagine her response, “One didn’t need a seatbelt when one was younger and one shall not begin using the confounded things now!” Ha ha ha

READING: I’m actually reading a Jacqueline Wilson book - Dustbin Baby. I started it when I was a nanny but didn’t get very far so I’m reading again. I’ve just finished The Girl of Ink and Stars which is a gorgeous book for children of T’s age. I bought it for her for Easter and she recommended it to me.

ACTIVITIES TODAY: well, I got up at 5:30 and de-flead the house again (I’ve been doing this every day - there are a lot fewer fleas today so hopefully it won’t take too many more applications), made lunches and breakfasts, lost the plot at my children and stomped to school with them trying to keep up (L is back from a school residential trip and it took very little time before they were kicking the crap out of one another again). I worked with my three one on ones, had lunch, did lunchtime football with year 2s then taught maths for the afternoon. I think I had reached a point of utter lunacy as we giggled through two step word problems including at least one grid method or bus stop method. It’s lucky the intervention table has moved from outside the Heads office!

THINKING ABOUT: Rich is coming back from 10 days in the states tomorrow. I’ve missed him but I also feel a bit cross with him. It is, by no means, his fault that i am cross. I think I’m jealous that he’s visited such amazing places while I’ve been in the usual routine with the added issue of heatwave loving fleas!! I’ve taken great pleasure in utter flea annihilation!! Except that Lila has just told me that she’s found one in my room. *le sigh.

PLANNING: we’ve had a couple of trees and a few bushes removed from the garden. Ones that probably seemed a good idea to the people who planted them oh so long ago. But they had grown to ridiculous heights and widths for our tiny, suburban garden. I plan on putting an apple tree in one corner and a wisteria over the garden wall.

Oh, and going back over my bedroom with the effing indorex spray!


Last updated June 24, 2017


thesunnyabyss June 23, 2017

ugh, fleas, you have my sympathies,

I'd be a little cross too, especially bc of the fleas,

have a great reunion and a better run tomorrow!!!

ermentrude thesunnyabyss ⋅ June 23, 2017

Thank you!! Xx

Deleted user June 23, 2017

How i hate fleas and fighting them costs me a fortune !!! I love wisteria and I want an apple tree too !

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ June 23, 2017

Yes, I've spent over £100 on flea stuff this week!

Deleted user ermentrude ⋅ June 23, 2017

It adds up so FAST ! One pill for Moxie costs 20.00 a month.

edna million June 24, 2017

When we had a flea problem quite a few years ago, I found these bizarre....things... that were just a little night-light sized bulb that was in front of a square of sticky paper, maybe 12 inches on each side. The bulb plugged into a wall socket with the sticky paper behind it, and the fleas would be attracted to the light and jump at it, then get stuck on the paper. It actually worked surprisingly well although it sounds a little insane!

I would be very annoyed if Mark was going off to fun faraway places and leaving me with the not-exciting routine stuff!

edna million June 24, 2017

Just googled "flea light traps" and they really do exist, although they seem to have advanced since I last used one-they don't look like what I remember but are the same principle. And apparently you can even make your own with tea lights!

ermentrude edna million ⋅ June 25, 2017

We are now flea free! I will have to look those up though!

The Tranquil Loon June 26, 2017

colojojo July 29, 2017

It's illegal to not wear a seatbelt in the US... I wonder if they'd arrest her haha... and if not, why not? ;p

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.