Better Late Than??? in Everyday Ramblings

  • June 22, 2017, 11:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The solstice! It was warm and windy and there was sun and clouds and glare out there. Mixed into my celebrations, (it is a big day in the yogic traditions), there was a bit of sorrow, as our days turn subtly shorter after this one. Across the street in the trees I can see the first hint of fall color, as always in one season, imbedded, are signs of the next.

I took this photo of this beautiful gate Saturday morning walking with Mrs. Sherlock.

I offer my apologies for being behind on noting. Work is busy and yesterday my work computer was acting weird and not connecting to our in house network and they ended up giving me a new laptop. It turned out to be a switch that was confusing a piece of software, sort of like replacing your car because the CD player doesn’t work properly…lots of time down the drain on this. Things sometimes don’t work.

And sometimes we get behind.

Three of my regular students have either one or two artificial knees and last night it was so cool because I had all three of them in class and no one else. I love being able to specifically address a need in class and this is one of the biggest challenges in a mixed ability class.

And Monday I had no artificial knees in class, which allows me to return to some of the fundamental core teachings without adaptation. Win win.

So it was fun to be able to modify in a way that accommodated them all but at the same time challenge them to help themselves.

One of my students experienced last week a terrifying choking incident and another showed up with her face badly bruised because last week on her way to class she had taken a fall and landed on her face. Oh gosh. Both are fine and taking care of themselves but as if I didn’t know already how quickly things can change…

The weather is just gorgeous today. I am looking forward to being out in it and to get away from the 4,689 emails I have received this morning about the disastrous health care bill that our duly elected congress has come up with.

Deep breath.


Deleted user June 22, 2017

Buying private insurance , not associated in any way with any of their health care bills , seems to me to be the only solution these days .its cheaper and better.
I am very concerned about the cuts to Medicare they want to make though. That can be disastrous for the Disabled and the elderly . Too many elderly already can barely afford the supplemental plans they desperately need as it is. We need a one payer health care plan in this country desperately. I am fine with paying higher taxes for that .
Those gates are lovely !

woman in the moon Deleted user ⋅ June 22, 2017

So many people cannot afford to buy private insurance. What happens to them? I wish I knew the answer. Single payer of course is the answer but I don't see how we can get there from here.

I'm with you of course on Medicare.

woman in the moon June 22, 2017

I like the knees natural and knees artificial yoga classes.

mcbee June 23, 2017

That gate is beautiful!

leonalia June 23, 2017

What incredible gates, quite mysterious in a way. I have full cover medical insurance, but I pay a lot for it. My doctors still bulk bill thank goodness.

edna million June 25, 2017

I love that gate!! It always makes me melancholy to realize the days are getting shorter now. Even if it's only a minute or so a day. My consolation is that time goes by so fast, we'll be back to the longest day in no time at all!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.