Open question..... in These titles mean nothing.

  • June 20, 2017, 9:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Does anyone buy food as in groceries on line? If so, how does it work and how do you like it?

My grandmother would call the grocery store most mornings and give her order. One of the grocery boys who wore a white apron and a pencil behind his ear would write down what she wanted and collect . Later in the day Ernie who drove the truck would deliver it, carry it into the kitchen and empty the box on the kitchen table. If she weren’t home - which was never - he’d put the cold stuff in the fridge.

At the end of the month the store added up the charges and my grandmother would go to the store and pay her bill.

alt text


Brakeshoe Bob June 20, 2017

One of the Grocery "Chains" we have here King Soopers (Kroger), has an order online. They will shop "your" list and have it either for pick up at the store or they will deliver to your home. I personally have not tried it

NorthernSeeker June 20, 2017

My daughter buys food online from Save On Foods and she loves the service. She says they always choose good produce which would be my main worry. My daughter places the food order and my son in law picks it up on his way home from work. It is a good division of labour.

Just Annie June 20, 2017

My eldest, Katie, orders her groceries online and then picks them up on the way home from work. She loves it. And she learned that a competing grocery store is offering delivery. Neither service is available here.

Yet.

Deleted user June 20, 2017

I order some from Amazon. Now Walmart will take your list ,then you go and they will load them in your car :-)

Deleted user June 20, 2017

I would give anything to order my food online and then have it delivered to me. I wouldn't even mind picking it up. Sadly, we do not have that service available where I live.

Serin June 24, 2017

Nope. I don't trust people who can't figure out to bag meat separately or to put the squishables on top of the non-squishables to pick out decent items for me, or to pick out the ones with longer life rather than disposing of their aging stock through suckers like me ordering remotely.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.