It’s My Birthday and I’ll… in Everyday Ramblings

  • June 19, 2017, 11:16 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

…Run if I want to. You would run too if it appealed to you.

Yesterday Kes and I were talking about the things we are passionate about and enjoy. I have a whole list of things. This morning I indulged in one of them and went over to the track just after sunrise and walked fast to get my heart rate into the cardio zone and then ran very very slowly, so slowly for the 10 minutes my Physical Therapist suggested and then I ran two splits, I let my pony go and ran as fast as I could for 26 seconds walked around one lap and did it again.

My doctor says my heart is okay; I’ve had my lungs checked. What is interesting is running that fast for such a short period of time is that my heart rate did not spike. It is only the sustained running that makes that happen.

So I wonder if I can work on expanding that say a few seconds at a time?

I was happy though out there on my own on the track with clear skies and a moderate temperature and green all around.

There is some indication I might be a little sore tomorrow though. :)

About 18 months ago I tried a pushup challenge that started out with simple pushups and got progressively harder and that was good. There were like three variations I couldn’t do. Now I am starting a different pushup challenge. It is very simple. You do 10 real “boy” pushups every day. To start you don’t need to do them all at once and you don’t need to go all the way down and come back up.

My back wasn’t bothering me when I was doing the pushup challenge. At least not anything like it was four months ago. My chest was getting stronger. As a part of my back care routine I can find time to do 10 pushups a day.

Tonight I am teaching material that is a little different from what I normally teach. It involves moving all the critical joints through a full range of motions and includes extensive movements of the eyes, hands and feet. There are some balancing components but it is a gentle practice. You make faces. You roll your eyes. The movements get progressively bigger.

Kes was so kind as to let me practice teaching it on her. It was lovely to see her brighten and feel more energetic after doing it.

She also took me to the grocery store for a big shop, which was fabulous. I was able to provision in such a way that I won’t need to go to the store for a week! And I don’t have to work overtime this week either.

Mrs. Sherlock and I went for a fabulous walk on Saturday morning through this lovely old park near where I used to live but one I don’t know very well at all. It is full of big old trees. Some organization was having a tree climbing for rescue competition and there were guy wires, a non-responsive dummy and an expert up in one of the larger trees.

We also wandered around the surrounding neighborhood and went to the famous Portland Nursery where everybody who tends to all these astonishing gardens I so admire goes. The people that work there are the epitome of happy and clearly enjoy their work. That was nice. They also allow dogs and we had Frida with us.

Until it is time to teach I am going to while away the rest of my birthday. I had some ambition to clean my closet but I’ll wait for a cloudy day to do that.

Happy happy almost solstice. Very exciting for you in the southern hemisphere, let me personally congratulate you on making it through to slightly, ever so slightly longer days.


Lyn June 19, 2017

🎂🎈 Happy Birthday!

What a great weekend.

Deleted user June 19, 2017

Happy ,Happy Birthday ! May you while away the hours with very happy minutes . It is almost the solstice ! I need to plan something good !

Deleted user June 19, 2017

Happy birthday! Such a nice time of year to have a birthday! Noooo... I'm not ready for days starting to get shorter!
10 push-ups a day sounds like a great habit.

mcbee June 19, 2017

I hope you have a great birthday!

woman in the moon June 19, 2017

Third time for trying to leave you a note - I gotta pay attention to where my fingers go.
This is a wonderful entry. You take such good care of yourself and of others - it's a real gift.
I'm glad the poodle got to see the flowers.
So many people with June birthdays this year - I must be paying more attention though Trump and Pence are both new on my birthday list.
And your inner pony - is such a wonderful discovery and so great to nurture.

Ragdolls June 19, 2017

Happy Birthday!

Deleted user June 19, 2017

Belated happy birthday. 💐

leonalia June 20, 2017

People who work in nurseries are usually very happy and obliging. Must be because of the beautiful plants they are amongst. My garden makes me feel happy. Happy Belated Birthday from Australia.

edna million June 20, 2017

That sounds like a great way to spend your birthday! I've heard a lot of news recently about how short bursts of strenuous activity is possibly as good for you as long stretches of it. Hooray for your pony!

The pushup challenge sounds great too. I can do like ONE pushup, despite being strong in other areas. I really really need to work on that.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.