MY HEROS in Postcards 4

  • June 16, 2017, 7:38 a.m.
  • |
  • Public


Captain Poolie…doing better but feeling worse. She’s my hero.

I didn’t think I would be nervous about the skin cancer surgery…but I was. On hold most of the day, that was me. I did nothing I had planned mainly sitting at my computer reading blogs and not leaving notes. I apologize for that.

George was my company and my ride downtown. Captain Poolie was right across the street at the infusion clinic getting her chemo, blood transfusion, and all the other fluids she needs to stay alive. I waved at her building even tho I knew she couldn’t see me. George stayed in the waiting room while I dealt with a scattered staff. I gather they had a difficult case just before me.

I hardly bled a drop and offered no resistance tho feeling smothered under the blue drapes. They talked to me, told me what was happening as they worked. Did I remember a word they said? No. The Doctor…such a young fresh faced guy, thought he got it all, but another biopsy will tell us.
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………...............

  • Himself: Dinner in Old Town at Guadalajara late yesterday. Lots of old locals at the bar, and the mariachi’s didn’t come in to drown us out. G is truly my hero this day.

  • Herself: Tried Facebook’s carousel effect on the Discovery Shop page yesterday. It works well, but few people looked at it. It’s not eye catching. Survived my minor surgery, visited Poolie, ate a cheese enchilada and chili relleno. Today I’m the hot tamale photographing the Summer event, and sporting my bandages at a meeting tonight.
    Sometimes I feel as if I’m keeping the outer carcass glued together while the inside fades to nothing.

  • Reading: A book on WWI troop transportation. Not bad.

  • Gratitude’s: George for his company.


Deleted user June 16, 2017

A rough day but it turned out well in the end ! Prayers for Poolie !

gattaca June 16, 2017

I wasn't bothered by the first carcinoma. Perhaps I should have been, because it returned in the same place (and was removed again).
I'd like to stop aging at 61, please (my present age).
Oh, if only...

gattaca June 16, 2017

Prayers for Poolie (and you and George).

Eriu June 16, 2017

The inside isn't fading to nothing; surgery wipes you out, plain and simple. I look forward to feeling fully me again.

Marg June 16, 2017

Glad Poolie's doing better - hope her spirits start to match that soon!

Hillbilly Princess June 16, 2017

Brakeshoe Bob June 16, 2017

My best for your recovery and a great prognosis for the future

NorthernSeeker June 17, 2017

I'm crossing my fingers that your biopsy was perfect. I had a punch biopsy in November. I don't like the draping but it did make me feel more removed from the procedure so that was a good thing.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.