A Swelling Swell in My Poetry Slams

  • June 15, 2017, 2:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A crimson flow from down below
Sends up red flags, I’m sure you know
That the grass is never greener
Only leaves you bitter and meaner
Trodden under foot
Smashed by the weight
Of countless times I took the bait
Bit down hard and now I’m reeling
Familiar paths seem so appealing
Forget the things you thought you knew
One and done
Im an one man crew
I took too many and left too few
Monkey in the middle of madness
I can’t see nor hear nor speak to sadness
You’ve stuffed it in this envelope
Dingy, stained with harried hope
Please Postman, drop me a line
I’ll fake a smile and say it’s fine
When it’s the same damn postcard
Stamped with Return to Sender.


Last updated July 02, 2017


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.