6/15 in --

  • June 15, 2017, 1:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I guess I’m the president of the Higher Education Student Association now.
I really don’t know what I’m getting myself into.

I’m nervous because I’m taking quite a bit on this coming semester. I have my part-time job, full time graduate workload (I’m taking three classes again, possibly – hopefully I can get it down to two), internship (it’ll end towards the end of September), I’m part of the graduate advising counsel, I’m trying to get pregnant, and I have a family at home.

I am sure I’ll find ways to juggle life. I have before, right? I’m really trying hard to get as much leadership experience as possible, as well as doing good networking. I really, really need to have a good-looking resume. I will still lack the number of years experience-wise that people seem to want job applicants to have. I plan on going on to get my Ph.D. anyway, so I don’t mind having part-time work for awhile while I take care of a newborn, along with my other two kids and two stepkids.

I want to apply to the University of Kansas, but I am unsure of which Ph.D. program I want to apply for. There are a couple that I’m looking at. I like my current university’s Ph.D. program but it’s geared towards working adults and I want a more traditional research-intensive program. My current university is also having budget crises, so I doubt they’d have any good opportunities for me. They sure don’t at the graduate level. I’m basically working for free right now.

KU is also kind of far from Kansas City… like a 45-minute drive. I really don’t want to have to do that all the time. My partner is thinking of looking for work in Lawrence if I get accepted and we might move. The schools are better there than where we are too. His kids are starting public school this fall (they were in private, but it’s too expensive to keep them there). The logistics of moving when his kids and my kids have parents that still live in the Kansas City area would be a nightmare though. I get my kids every other day, and every other weekend. There’s no way that would work if we lived like 45 minutes away.

Gah.
We’ll figure it out, I guess.

My partner also wants to start a master’s program in public administration but if we’re having a baby in the spring, he’ll probably wait until the following fall. I think that’s probably a good idea. If I can even get pregnant. Sigh. I’ll leave that rant for my separate TTC posts.

Life’s okay. I need a break from social activities. It seems like every weekend there’s a social obligation that I have to fulfill and I’m so over it.


Small Town Girl June 16, 2017

Lots of things changing and moving in your world!! :) :)

Chaosbride June 20, 2017

wow big stuff! congrats! You can doooo it!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.