Thunder Throat in My Poetry Slams

  • June 15, 2017, 11:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Thunder rumbles from my throat
Worried you didn’t see the smoke?
Lightning cracks behind my back
I’d jump but the ropes got no slack
A terrific weight that’s held me down
Carrying a starving past that ate present time
Now all my demons stand in line
They jump when I rumble
Ghosts of regrets past pass on out
Over and through, this is now a spooky free zone
Banshees once so shrill take a different tone
Monsters long in tooth and short on time
Stomp their hooves in my likeness
An army of my own darkness
Falls into line as the banner unfurls
Thunder rumbles from my throat
Panic grips you when you smell the fire
Started with a spark, a flick of a lighter
Fear freezes you, horror flickers in your frame
Eyes widen as the flames grow higher
My battalion of beastly boogeyman never grow tired
On tear stained walls, reeking of old sins
If my demons work for me now
What chance did you think you stand?
Hit the ground when you hear my throat rumble


Last updated June 15, 2017


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.