Narwhal of the Plant Kingdom? in Everyday Ramblings

  • June 13, 2017, 9:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I took this Saturday morning out in the drizzle. The lilies are coming on.

Yesterday I listened to an interview with a National Geographic photographer who specializes in the Arctic and the Antarctic talking about finding and taking pictures of Narwhals and I was thinking this lily looks a bit like them.

Stating the obvious. Nature is amazing in her creative diversity…

The sweet peas and Queen Anne’s lace are also coming on as are the early hydrangeas. These points on the flower clock mean summer plain and simple. Now if we can just do something about the ominous cool gloom. We should get some clearing Friday after the big wind blows all this out of the valley on Thursday.

Now that I have hammered out the pricing and structure of such pricing for my classes and checked to make sure the studio is available the rest of the summer I splurged yesterday and ordered some cards about my classes. They are half sized cards on a shiny paper for putting up in windows and on bulletin boards.

The students I have are so wonderful and one of them was named “Unitarian of the Year” on Sunday. We all clapped for him even though he and his partner are on a National Geographic cruise on a smaller ship around Alaska. The service was filmed so he’ll be able to watch it when he gets home. I can’t think of anyone who deserves this recognition more. :) We were all abuzz about it last night.

I wonder if they will see any elusive narwhals?

Today I talked to my Zen teacher/therapist who I haven’t seen in about two years. He said he had been thinking about me and wasn’t surprised that I called. He is going to help me step onto the path of integrating more of the spiritual teaching into my classes and open a spiritual path for my students if they should be so inclined.

He believes (and it is hard to argue) that there is a unique energetic channel between us, probably past life “stuff”. Zen is just not my path.

I see that my students suffer on many different levels and I can help them help themselves on the physical level but the teachings offer so much more.

He was very excited when I told him this. He made it clear to me years and years ago he thought I had something to offer as a Buddhist teacher but I had to be obstinate and stumble around finding my own way in.

The path that starts with the body, the fantastic journey within.

This all will keep me busy and (hopefully) out of trouble during the next three years until I can retire. If I still have benefits to retire with, if my government and employer haven’t managed to decimate them.

Last night I taught a class with a focus on our shoulders but without realizing what I was doing I integrated talking about Wonder Woman and the whole history of the birth control movement and the Suffragettes that informed a part of Marsden’s creation of the comic book character into the whole class. All six of my students last night are smart caring women.

It was fun. I am looking forward to seeing the movie.

Tomorrow afternoon I have a meeting with some important people at work, way above my pay grade, I will be the only woman, but I will be the subject matter expert. Wish me luck. I am a bit nervous about the whole thing and will be glad when it is over and I can go teach again.

Deep breaths, I can do this. I can.


Last updated June 13, 2017


Deleted user June 13, 2017

I have every confidence you can and will represent yourself well .

Deleted user June 13, 2017

That's a Voodoo Lily !

noko Deleted user ⋅ June 14, 2017

Very cool. Thanks for the I.D.

Lyn June 13, 2017

You will do well in your meeting!

For some reason that Lily makes me think of Audrey in Little Shop of Horrors!

mcbee June 14, 2017

Good luck on that meeting, the expert in you will do fine.

edna million June 20, 2017

That's great about the Zen teacher-- how cool to integrate more of that area into your classes! And what an interesting lily -

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.