Getting Out My Hardhat and Constructing a New Reality in Everyday Ramblings

  • June 9, 2017, 10:15 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

We had a break in the rain in the evening yesterday and instead of doing something practical like going to the grocery or the gym I went out with my headphones and my camera phone and wandered around listening to podcasts. You can tell that here by the extraordinary light in this picture.

I had been out on the track just after work, and in spite of the fact that there was supposed to be a break in the rain then it had started drizzling and as I wasn’t properly geared for that I had to quit earlier than I wanted to.

I don’t think our relationship as a community and neighborhood with Under Armor is going to be that good. They paid the Parks Department for the renovations to the track and field.

Yesterday there were a clump of executive types wandering around the unfinished building they are making offices out of looking and talking to each other. I admit I kind of buzzed them because they were blocking the path around the building to the track. I know these are the Under Armor executives because a little while later as I was trotting around the track the clump of people, were talking to the man who represented the company at our neighborhood meetings.

He had a suitcase on rollers and I kid you not, these five people were standing in the middle of the track talking in the light drizzle. In lanes 6 through 3. They stood there having a friendly work based conversation for the time it took me to trot around 3 laps. And I am slow. They were not admiring the track; they were smiling and listening to their boss. Who was standing in the middle of the resurfaced track with aforementioned suitcase on wheels.

This reminded me of a commentary I had read earlier in the day in The New York Times by two women who said exactly what I thought when I heard that our former director of the FBI was uncomfortable being left alone with the President of the United States.

Welcome to what it is like to be a woman!!!

There is also a further association for me because my boss (Mr. Hold No Prisoners) was from Baltimore as are these Under Armor people and very alike in body type and mannerisms as this executive. These guys have always (way before I knew who James Comey was) reminded me of F.B.I.

Mr. Hold No Prisoners used to stare at my breasts and I absolutely hated being alone with him. But there was no way, given my precarious political position at work was I going to say anything to anyone except my family (and you all) about it.

Sexual Harassment is all about power and has very little to do with sex.

Or as J.K. Rowling says….That Tiny Tiny Tiny Little man…

The podcasts I was listening to are all about how we create our own reality based on our conditioning, Invisibilia.

And that sort of ties into the question of do we bring something into being by thinking about it a certain way? Another podcast I listened to yesterday is called By the Book and in it two women read a self help book and then follow the recommendations to the letter for two weeks and report back.

So far they have tried The Secret and The Magic of Tidying Up.

I am very happy to have the track back. And I promise to work on my attitude.

And my construct of reality….


Last updated June 09, 2017


Deleted user June 09, 2017

That is an interesting theory . I shudder to think the negatives that I am so uncomfortable with in my life I brought on myself, even created :-( by how I think . Lord. But I don't rule it out by any means .

noko Deleted user ⋅ June 09, 2017

It is one of the prime theories in the yogic scriptures. They do address it in the podcast, this disturbing idea of blaming the victim for their own suffering, which is not what all this is about. In yoga we talk about these deep grooves or seeds that are buried in us from former lifetimes and that these difficulties manifest because it nudges us in the direction of a deeper spiritual commitment. This is all very different from the way most of us perceive things here in the U.S. I think like the story of Job it can help us understand and come to terms with our own suffering.

Deleted user noko ⋅ June 09, 2017

That's comforting ... thanks.

Deleted user June 09, 2017

Walking around with camera phone and listening to podcasts sounds like the best choice ever. :)

Deleted user June 10, 2017

J.K. Rowling is so right!

edna million June 14, 2017

I'm so behind I've missed the UnderArmor news, but it sounds like they're invading your neighborhood which is a shame. Especially when they are going to be Executive Men and act like they own the track! I thought the same thing when Comey said that about Trump.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.