6/8 in --

  • June 8, 2017, 1:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I only go in six to eight hours a week for my internship. I went in for two days this week. I’m helping to develop graduate recruiting for the School of Education at my university. So far I’ve done meaningful work and it doesn’t feel like I’m wasting my time, so that’s good. I just wish I was getting paid for it! And everyone I work with so far is nice, and helpful. The woman I work with at my other job is a little bit more difficult, but she and I get along mostly.

My daughter is three-years-old next month (can you believe that!) and she’s having trouble with listening and following directions lately. She’s very antagonistic. She does things to get a rise out of people on purpose. I usually ignore the behavior, but she’s very persistent. She’s had more timeouts lately than I ever had to do with my son. But she’s almost three, which is probably the most difficult age. She’s also very smart, and very good with language skills. She can recognize her name, and some other words, and she’s been speaking in full sentences since before she turned one. She’s just a pistol! I think she’ll outgrow it.
She’s also a sweet kid. She is still snuggly and loves to take care of her toy babies. I have been working on weather concepts with her. :)

Cannon is still talking about going to kindergarten all the time. He’s very excited! His interests have merged from Thomas the Train, although he does still love Thomas. His favorite thing to do is draw, and he’s getting quite good at it. He also loves to write letters, and spell words he makes up. I’ve introduced him to basic math. He can do addition problems if I gave him a visual. We’re working up to just numbers. He likes to watch how-to drawing videos on YouTube that I found.

They’re both really into watching YouTube kids videos, but I’ve been really limiting screen time with them. Yesterday they didn’t get any. I do like them to play educational games (there’s a intro programming game we have on the iPad that they like) but yesterday we were busy outside before bedtime so they didn’t do that either.

My online classes aren’t as bad as I thought they would be! It’s not going to be hard to keep up.

I sure hope I get some actual sleep tonight. I didn’t again last night.


Last updated June 08, 2017


Small Town Girl June 11, 2017

Wow. Three years already?! Not even possible!

Chaosbride June 14, 2017

Your kids sound awesome and super smart

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.