Monochrome in The First Life

  • June 7, 2017, 11:29 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s quiet in my place, despite how I thought I’d fill it with noise, I have not.
It’s clean. I didn’t change that part he shaped....I do leave dishes overnight sometimes. And I’ve been getting drunk alone and leaving traces of my bad eating choices.
I can hear the city, the fireworks booming after a winning game, I hear voices echo in alleys nearby. There is a lot of life out there.
I walk through the village. Depending on when you go, you may watch over your shoulder. There are young people everywhere.. and older people on Sunday mornings.
I’m half a mile from our favorite restaurant. I haven’t taken advantage of that yet. I haven’t done much… really.
I’m breaking a heart without trying, drinking more than I should, and waiting for the edge to wear. I do a lot of walking my dog, he sleeps in my bed now and sheds everywhere.
All of the rooms echo…bare walls and lacking furniture. High ceilings don’t help.
I have to remember to turn the air up when I leave… And I’ve been buying more groceries than one person needs.
I have to make adjustments.
Liquor bottles don’t empty as fast. Despite the increase in consumption.
I sing out of tune
Talk to myself out loud.
Its been weird.
I haven’t felt grounded. Home has been swept away and I’m trying to belong again.


Last updated November 06, 2017


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.