Gray and Grey in All Sorts of Ways in Everyday Ramblings

  • June 7, 2017, 10:33 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It is quite hazy out here now and we are supposed to cloud up this afternoon and stay that way for over a week. That is a typical weather pattern here for June. I suspect that after our endless way over average rainfall this water year we will be dry too.

Anyway, that is why I chose this particular picture, the colors and the light. I want to carry that light with me internally until we come back out of the gloom.

We were talking about colors in class on Monday because one of our students was commenting that all his colors matched, on his clothes, his two toned mat and block and we were having fun with that.

I wear a lot of black (and if I didn’t get pestered by friends and family would probably wear more) and I bought a very high-end black yoga mat made of sustainably grown rubber. It was really a mistake because it shows everything! If there is even a hint of dust on the studio floor or I wear sandals to class and my feet pick up street dirt…

It also shows gray cat hair. And with it being warmer and the two medium haired companion cats I live with. I brought it home on Monday and washed it in the bathtub yesterday and now I need to get it rolled up cleanly to take back to the studio where I keep it. I guess I will turn on the dehumidifier and unfurl a clean sheet on the living room floor and put the cats in the bedroom and hope for the best.

You know we all have these little challenges we address every day and I find the ingenuity of most folks I know to be endlessly fascinating.

Me thinks my next yoga mat will be gray. :)

It took almost a week but we hammered out a pricing schedule for the class for the summer with the church that I think will work for everybody. I found it all somewhat exhausting and a little stressful but now I know.

A good indication of how exhausting would be that I slept 11 hours last night! Allergies, work, maybe a bug, the overwhelming depressing and scary news coming at us relentlessly.

I am teaching a three-hour Saturday workshop next month called “Yoga for Dealing With a World Gone Mad” and I was thinking this summer I would focus my classes on building resilience and so when I did the blurb for the Summer Program Guide I said something like…

This gentle yoga class is for all body types with an emphasis this summer on building resilience to help us cope with difficult times.

My coordinator came back with…

Also we prefer your write up without the “with difficult times.” Because that has been said so many times in our programs that people are protesting. We even had a woman drop out of the Women’s Retreat because the facilitator put that in her Retreat Title.

And I get that. I mean gosh, compared to what folks are dealing with in Yemen and Syria and Afghanistan we are living the high life. And also there is this whole idea of not projecting a dark worldview.

I do fret that the vision of American that our President and his advisors share with us is so dark and because of focusing on that we will manifest it and that same idea is at play here.

Sometimes Democracy is a very challenging row to hoe indeed. But oh so worth it. It can bring out the best in us, as well as the worst and I can understand why folks want to concentrate on that.

I do, however, think these are difficult times. And I am grateful that I had the opportunity to sleep through 11 hours of the last 24 so now I can cope with the unfolding gloom. Both internal and external.


Last updated June 07, 2017


Lyn June 07, 2017

Sending some sun to enlighten the gloom. 🌞

Agent Orange is visiting my city today. 😞

noko Lyn ⋅ June 07, 2017

You have my deepest sympathies. We think he doesn't even know where Oregon is.

Deleted user June 07, 2017

I think these ARE difficult and scary times .

Deleted user June 09, 2017

You are not alone, Sabs wears mostly black. Much to my dismay.

edna million June 14, 2017

Yoga For Dealing With A World Gone Mad sound perfect to me. And I am swooning over that gorgeous iris!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.