INVENTORY in Postcards 4

  • June 7, 2017, 11:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public


Dishes: Soft green white and cinnamon Russell Wright dishes with a little color to add snap.


Cross stitch and embroidery both found in thrift stores.


Georges Chevy pickups and tow trucks in Gimpa’s glass fronted bookcase.

Yes, way too many dishes. Yes, too many metal trucks, and too much red in the living room, but I have it recorded on my computer. Progress. None of my mother’s art, but several of mine and of my grandma’s pastilles. Yes, it all looks neat, but that’s because all our messes live behind glass. I laugh at myself often.

When my Victorian house burned in the 1970’s, I had not one pictures of anything in that house. I do from the big house and the cottage. Most importantly, I have an acre of a pictoral inventory here. When I did that clean out and discard job last year, the author encouraged us to make an inventory at the end. I’m a little late, but it’s done.



  • Himself: At work. Knee doing better. Bought things to make his costume better at Joanne’s.

  • Herself: I got the gold lame pinned too g’s costume. Bought my costume fabrics last night.

  • Reading: Back to the book on Graham’s book on “Washington.” Most of it is fascinating.

  • Gratitude’s: That most of me feels good too.


gattaca June 07, 2017

My mom had Russell Wright (and Conant Ball furniture). Hers were green, place settings for 10. Mid-century glorious.
My sister got it all when mom died, even though she wanted me to have it - it would have far too expensive to ship (safely) to Tucson.

Eriu June 07, 2017

I like embroidered things and feel they're not only beautiful but make places more "homey".

Hillbilly Princess June 07, 2017

MageB June 07, 2017

Now I gotta get folks to visit.

NorthernSeeker June 07, 2017

Oh...can you post a photo of your mother's and grandmother's art? Very cool.

G is going to wear gold lame? It must be a steam punk thing.

Deleted user June 08, 2017

I like it !

Marg June 09, 2017

My brothers and sister have often lamented the fact that we don't have many photos of our family home - nobody would ever think of doing such a thing then unless they were taking someone's pic so we have tantalising glimpses of wallpaper here, a favourite couch there etc. I often take pics of the inside of my house - often from odd angles - and applaud technology for making it easier nowadays to do so!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.