From a Walk to a Trot in Everyday Ramblings

  • June 5, 2017, 1:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It is all about the color for me, experiencing color. And this late iris I shot yesterday just seems perfect.

My inner pony and I did get out on the track on Saturday…and yesterday…and um, this morning. You think I have missed it? Maybe, just a little?

There is this new documentary that premiers tonight on HBO about folks (mostly famous comedians) that are in their 90’s and thriving called “If You’re Not in the Obit, Eat Breakfast”. A featured woman who is 100 started running when she was 67. She says you have got to be the boss of your body.

I am using the fancy features of my Fitbit to track these little runs. It is funny because I am not trying to go faster, I am trying to go slower so that I can keep my heart rate manageable, which has been the problem all along. For these short runs hot feet are not an issue.

This morning it was just me and the crows out there so I was able to practice chanting out loud to see how my breathing was doing. All the experts now are saying that heart rate zones are individual and unless you work with a sports physician (yeah, if I ever win the lottery) you have to figure out your own zones.

So what I need is a heart rate that will allow me to increase my distance breathing at a nice normal sustainable rate. My pony and I are not in agreement on this but I need to be the boss of not only my body but my inner horse too.

There was a heavy police presence in town yesterday afternoon including ever-present oppressive helicopters. There seems to be a lot of folks out there angry about a whole heck of a lot of stuff. Empowered and angry. And then there are the Anarchists who just want to disrupt everything. They don’t believe in democracy. The problem here is that our current White House also believes in disrupting everything (well… everything that doesn’t personally benefit them and their donors).

So there is a whole lot of disruption going on and a lot of anger and frustration being expressed and behind the scenes while all this is going on a group of old white men I did not vote for are making decisions about what kind of health care will be available to me as I slowly (mindfully) move from a walk to a trot into my future.

I must say I did love that Maureen Dowd called Steve Bannon a “dyspeptic dystopian troll”. That made my day.

And speaking about one’s day… today appears to be World Environment Day.

I hope, like my pony, you are able to get out in it.


Last updated June 05, 2017


Lyn June 05, 2017

Happy World Environment Day! 🌎

Maureen Down is spot on.

Deleted user June 05, 2017

I saw the pile of weapons the police confiscated from the demonstration. I hope everyone possessing weapons were jailed. Demonstrating is fine. Planning to hurt people who disagree with you is not . :-(

noko Deleted user ⋅ June 05, 2017

I saw a number of "Free Speech" demonstrators yesterday as I was out and about late in the morning and I have to say that they scared the heck out of me. They were geared up for a fight. A group walked right by my bedroom window and I thought...ah...a nice afternoon to stay home and putter.

Deleted user noko ⋅ June 05, 2017

That does not sound like " Free Speech" as I imagine it :-(

ODSago June 07, 2017

Lovely entry to read, well, despite those aging white men and their antics. Must be so satisfying to be out on the track and managing your pony so well. May it go well.

Iris! Mom had so many that color. If I think iris: that's the color I see. Sure hope Portland has quieted down from the recently shocking matters in the press.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.