Untitled in 2017

  • June 4, 2017, 7:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My husband’s program has a family portion on Saturdays. Obviously the kids are way too little to attend, but I went for the first time, this weekend. It was helpful to go. Just to get more of an idea on how I can be a support system for my husband. Somewhere along the past week Ive released a lot of my anxiety about the whole thing. A lot of that anxiety stemmed from the unknown future and my fear of him relapsing countless times (as the statistics would suggest happens more often than not). Anyway, For now I have a little peace with the process. I’m a notorious ‘fixer’, so its tough not having much I can contribute to his sobriety. Its his process. His skeletons to sort through, and Im here to listen when/if he wants to share.

The kids went to my parents summer trailer for an overnight, which gave us some very much needed alone time. We lazed about and then did dinner and a movie. Guardians 2 was even better than the original. Funny, though the plot points were sometimes predictable and the dialogue sometimes as well, I still really enjoyed the movie. And even more than that, we just really enjoyed spending time together.

Im not sure anything much changed, except maybe my outlook. Right now, Im okay. Im feeling motivated to just take each minute as it comes. My moods are still pretty variable, but Im trying to give myself some grace as I navigate this all. Intimacy is building between my husband and I and I can definitely say those butterflies I had eleven years ago when we met are still alive and strong. <3


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.