For the poets in Tips and Tricks

  • July 12, 2013, 12:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

There's a little trick to getting single lines to come out right. You can type something like this:

*There once was a girl named Sue
Who was a student up at the U
She said, "Mama Mia!
I think me a mama
The pregnancy test just turned blue!*

And would expect it to look like this:

There once was a girl named Sue
Who was a student up at the U
She said, "Mama Mia!
I think me a mama
The pregnancy test just turned blue!

But instead it looks like this:

There once was a girl named Sue Who was a student up at the U She said, "Mama Mia! I think me a mama The pregnancy test just turned blue!

Markdown does have its quirks. An easy fix for this is to add two spaces at the end of each line. Then you should get single line formatting. :)


Decayed Elvis July 12, 2013

I was using the old line break html code for my WONDERFUL haiku submissions. Handy stuff. Thanks!

simple mind Decayed Elvis ⋅ July 12, 2013

when my haikus don't
wrap from one line to the next
two spaces solves it

Teflon Superhero Decayed Elvis ⋅ July 12, 2013

LINE BREAK! That's what I needed to do!! smashes head into left over pizza on desk

Linda July 12, 2013

It's going to take awhile to get used to Markdown.

Rick July 12, 2013

Thank you so much...I want to post some of my poetry and song lyrics here, and thanks to this handy trick of yours, I can do that easily. At least I hope I can. I haven't tried it yet, but will very soon. You are wonderful. Thank you.

Deleted user July 12, 2013

Thanks, M'lord.

Krud July 20, 2013

Good
to
know.

LivingWaterCreek July 31, 2013

giving.. this.. a try..

LivingWaterCreek July 31, 2013

ooops, spaces
and i learned
there is no way
to delete notes!

Deleted user August 03, 2013

Awesome. Thank you so much for all of these Tips in advance. I think that it will save a lot of people a lot of stress lol.

Deleted user August 16, 2013

Ha! I managed to figure something out on my own!

I'm no poet though.

My writing style has just evolved into one liners!!!

Deleted user August 16, 2013

Hmmm...I guess I have to take that back.
I was only pressing enter twice.
That just creates a space between the lines.
Sigh...

Mood Swinger October 10, 2013

Thank you so much; I've just been trying to figure out this very thing!

Deleted user October 13, 2013

You know, p tags work strangely within blockquote tags. For some reason, they change the font. What's the best way to get a new line within blockquote tags?

Also, the "two spaces at the end of a line" thing didn't seem to work in a bockquote in a note. I like blockquotes because they give an easy way to set off text with an indent.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ October 13, 2013

Mixing HTML and Markdown doesn't really work; it's best to go with one or the other. That's why the two spaces doesn't work in the blockquote tag. If you want to try it the Markdown way... and this is an experiment...

> Here's a block quote with two spaces at the end of the line.  
> Hopefully this starts on a new line.
>
> And now a new paragraph in the block.

Which gives you... (and I hope this works since comments don't have a preview function....

Here's a block quote with two spaces at the end of the line.
Hopefully this starts on a new line.

And now a new paragraph in the block.

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ October 14, 2013

Thanks. I'll experiment a bit. I do tend to avoid markdown because I'm more used to simple HTML for these purposes. I have been avoiding putting p's in blockquotes because they make the apparent font size too large for my taste (this does not happen in a blockquote without p's). I don't think you let users control/modify this with font or other tags, but I haven't really tried.

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ October 14, 2013

I'll probably tweak the styles so block quote fonts are consistent and not overly large.

Deleted user October 14, 2013

I'll probably tweak the styles so block quote fonts are consistent and not overly large.

Thanks, I'd appreciate it.

Dictynna December 19, 2013

Awesome! I love your super simple solutions (woah that's a lotta s's) to things that at ... well, other sites ... require at times advanced html to fix!

Silverstar46 March 03, 2014

Hey, is there a way to center things and I just missed the entry?

Writing To Escape June 11, 2014

Thank you :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.